Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Art: 60-205: Modern Visual Culture, 1789-1960: Using this Guide: Research Best Practices

Basic resources and research methods for course 60-205, Fall 2014

THIS GUIDE

For course, 60-205 Modern Visual Culture, 1789-1960, Fall 2014.
Basic online and print resources primarily via the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries.

RESEARCH METHODOLOGY: BEST PRACTICES

1. Research is rarely ever well-achieved in a straight line. It often involves a good amount of intrigue! Begin as soon as possible and delve.

 

2. Consider what types of resources you may need when researching your topic:

people  encyclopedias   surveys   dictionaries   timelines   primary materials   monographs (books)     biographies    exhibition catalogs    museum and gallery catalogs   journal articles   audio and/or visual resources (analog and online)    maps   atlases   bibliographies  dissertations....


and where you might begin to find the resources:

people    library catalogs    article databases   databases containing primary materials    open-access scholarly books and articles on the web    museum and galleries or their sites on the web ....


3. When you've decided on a topic, search for monographs in library catalogs databases such as Cameo or WorldCAT. If you find a book  (digital or print) or exhibition catalog dedicated to your topic, author or practitioner this will put you on your way more quickly to understanding the context and history of your topic.
For more help,  Ask a Librarian!

 

4. Try ALL pertinent journal databases for articles on your topic. Exhaust the suggested journal databases in this guide.
For more help, Ask a Librarian!



5. Log methods and terms you use with databases (such as Art Source) or search engines (such as Google) to minimize search replication and to keep track of your research strategies.

 

6. Use diverse resources to make the strongest case for your paper and verify any public-access web information you find with scholarly and other reliable resources in print and online.

7. Evaluate resources you use by identifying the source and analzying content for authority, objectivity, accuracy, currency, depth and  breadth.

 

 

QUESTIONS?


 Futurism and Dada Reviewed Hunt Library CD 3552


Mo Dawley
Art and Drama Librarian

Hunt Library
Art Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Art Research Guide

Send Email

Profile Image