LibGuides: Audio Collection: Home

Listen Now!

CMU community only

Music Online: American Music (formerly American Music) This link opens in a new window Streaming music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America's past and present.
Music Online: Classical Music Library (formerly Classical Music Library) This link opens in a new window Streaming audio with a supplementary reference database, enabling patrons to listen while simultaneously searching and browsing the Classical reference database. Send-to-mobile functionality.
Classical Music in Video This link opens in a new window Streaming video of classical music performances by leading orchestras, chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.
Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window Historical and current video performances of the Berlin Philharmonic. Set up your free account when using a library computer or the VPN. You can use it off campus afterwards but will need to re-authenticate on the VPN every 30 days to keep your account affiliated with CMU.
DRAM This link opens in a new window DRAM Contains American music represented by the New World Records and CRI label(s), which merged in 2007. From folk to opera, Native American to jazz, 19th century classical to early rock, musical theater, contemporary, electronic and beyond, New World has served composers, artists,students and the general public since its inception in 1975 with a grant from the Rockefeller Foundation. DRAM also includes more than 4,000 albums' worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 42 independent labels and archives with new content being continuously added.
Medici.tv This link opens in a new window Offers filmed concerts performed by today's greatest names in classical music, archive movies, inspiring documentaries on performers and composers, educational programs, and master classes.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window Provides unlimited access to more than 450 extraordinary Met performances.
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window Streaming recordings for genres such as Classical, Jazz, Blues, Nostalgia, World, Contemporary Instrumental, Chinese, Pop and Rock, Gospel, Spoken Word, and Relaxation. iPhone and Android apps available.
Naxos Music Library Jazz This link opens in a new window Streaming music from the artists and collections of Fantasy Records.
Opera in Video (now Music Online: Opera in Video) This link opens in a new window Streaming video of performances, interviews, and documentaries that cover the full range of operatic composition, from the Baroque to the 20th century.

Featured Databases

Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
Historical and current video performances of the Berlin Philharmonic. Set up your free account when using a library computer or the VPN. You can use it off campus afterwards but will need to re-authenticate on the VPN every 30 days to keep your account affiliated with CMU.
Met Opera on Demand This link opens in a new window
Provides unlimited access to more than 450 extraordinary Met performances.

BBC Sound Effects Online

16,000 BBC Sound Effects are made available by the BBC in WAV format to download for use under the terms of the RemArc Licence. The Sound Effects are BBC copyright, but they may be used for personal, educational or research purposes, as detailed in the license.

Freesound
http://www.freesound.org/
Aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse.

Studio Cutz

Check out our royalty free Studio Cutz CD collection for your next class project. Each CD covers a unique theme, with titles such as "Acoustic Brew" and "Silly Stuff" with 60 second edits, 30 second edits, and short edits (or stingers) of each song.

Creative Commons Licensed Music

Compositions and Performance by Stephen W. Beatty (1938): 2010-2014: Scores with Parts and audio AIFF Recordings
Compositions and Performance by Stephen W. Beatty (1938): 2014-2015: Scores with Parts and audio AIFF Recordings

Other Resources

British Library Sound Archive (temporarily unavailable)
Listen to a selection from the British Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings, which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

CHARM AHRC Research Centre for the History and Analysis of Recorded Music
A partnership in 2004 of Royal Holloway, University of London (host institution) with King's College, London and the University of Sheffield, CHARM's aim was to promote the musicological study of recordings, drawing on a wide range of approaches ranging from computational analysis to business history. AHRC Research Centre for Musical Performance as Creative Practice (CMPCP) was launched in October 2009 as the Phase 2 successor to CHARM focusing on live musical performance and creative music-making.

National Jukebox (pre-1925)
Historical Recordings from the Library of Congress.

Audio Collection: Home

Contact

Listen Now!

Featured Databases

BBC Sound Effects Online

Copyright Free Music

Other Resources