Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Drama: Theatre Reference Shelf: Encyclopedias

Encyclopedias (comprehensive in scope)

Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion
This online encyclopedia is included in the vast Berg Fashion Library where articles, essays, e-books and more are also accessible. The multi-volume print edition of the Encyclopedia can be found in location, HUNT FA-REF GT507 .E54 2010


www.bloomsburyfashioncentral.com

 

Cambridge History of American Theatre (Don B. Wilmeth and Christopher Bigsby, eds.) New York; Cambridge: Cambridge University, Press, 1998.
HUNT FA-REF PN2221 .c37 1998 3 Vols.
Volume 1: Beginnings to 1870; Volume 2: 1870-1945; Volume 3: Post-World War II-1990s
A contextual survey; each section contains extensive timelines juxtaposing theatre events in America with selected historical/cultural American and worldwide events.

The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern Drama. (Cody, Gabrielle H. and Evert Sprinchorn, ed.). New York: Columbia University Press, 2007.
HUNT FA-REF PN1861 . C65 2007 2 Vols.
Scholarly critical essays on individuals, plays, and types of drama from 1860 to present; cites first production of plays; emphasis placed on cultural context of dramatic works and their authors; appendices include synoptic outline of contents, directory of contributors. Bibliographies. Extensive index.

Gänzl, Kurt. The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre. Schirmer Books, 2001.
HUNT FA-REF ML102 .M88 G3 2001 3 volumes

Eicher, Joanne Bubolz. Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion. Oxford University Press, 2010.
HUNT FA-REF-4 GT507 .E54 2010 10 vols.
Articles and images examined with an emphasis on multi-disciplinary and cross-cultural perspectives regarding all aspects of dress and fashion globally from pre-history to the present.

International Dictionary of Theatre. (Hawkins-Dady, Mark, ed., Leanda Shrimpton, picture editor). Chicago and London: St. James Press, 1992.
HUNT FA-REF PN2035 .I49 1992

Plays Volume 1
Detailed information about play publication and production. Includes date of first production, translations and bibliography;critical summary of each play.
Playwrights Volume 2
Detailed information on life and work; critical summary; bibliography
Actors, Directors and Designers Volume 3
Detailed information on life and work, critical summary; bibiliography.

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers. St. James Press, 2000
HUNT-FA-REF PN1997.8 .I58 2000 4 Vols.

Films Volume 1
Detailed production information
Directors Volume 2
Detailed information on life and work, critical summary; bibiliography.
Actors Volume 3
Detailed information on life and work, critical summary; bibiliography.
Writers and Production Artists Volume 4
Detailed information on life and work, critical summary; bibiliography.


Oxford Reference International Encyclopedia of Dance [online]
Oxford University Press, 2005.
This is the web edition of the 1998 6-volume print edition, (Selma Jeanne Cohen, ed.)
Images for this encyclopedia can only be viewed in the print version at location:
HUNT FA-REF GV1585 .I586 1998

McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of World Drama, 2nd ed. New York: McGraw-Hill, 1984.
REF-1 PN1625 .M3 1984, 5 vols.
Contains articles on dramatists, the theatre of nations or ethnic groups, genres, companies, and theoreticians. Includes indexes of subjects and the names of people and plays. Heavily illustrated.

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance [online]
This is the web edition of the 2003 2-volume print edition. Images for this encyclopedia can be viewed only in the print version at location:
HUNT FA-REF PN2035 .O94 2003

The World Encyclopedia of Contemporary Theatre. Don Rubin, ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 1994- .
FA-REF-4 PN1861 .W67 1994, 5 Vols.
Vol 1: Europe, Vol 2: The Americas, Vol 3. Africa, Vol. 4 The Arab World (North Africa and the Middle East), Vol. 5. Asia/Pacific, Vol. 6 Bibliography and Cumulative Index.