Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

BXA 52-202 / 65-202 The Visual Culture of Totalitarianism: Fascism, Art and Ideology: Home

In This Guide

This is a guide to basic library resources for BXA 52-202: The Visual Culture of Totalitarianism: Fascism, Art and Ideology with a focus in Italy from 1922-1945.   As you do your research do not hestitate to ask for help!

Research Best Practices

1. Research is rarely ever well-achieved in a straight line. It often involves a good amount of persistence and intrigue!  For help, Ask a Librarian.

2. When you've decided on a topic, examine sourcebooks such as surveys, encyclopedias and timelines that will give you historic context for your topic in conjunction with searching for monographs in Cameo or WorldCat that focus as closely on your topic as possible. 

3. Consider what types of resources you may need when researching your topic:

people,  encyclopedias,   surveys,   dictionaries,   timelines,   primary materials,  monographs (books),   biographies,    exhibition catalogs,    museum and gallery catalogs,   journal articles,  audio and/or visual resources (analog and online),    maps,   atlases,   bibliographies,  dissertations....

and where you might begin to find the resources:

people,    databases: library catalogs  plus  article databases   databases containing primary materials...     open-source scholarly books and articles on the web,    museum and galleries or their sites on the web ....


4. Use diverse resources to make the strongest case for your research and verify any open-source web information you find with scholarly and other reliable resources in print and online.

5. Try ALL pertinent journal databases for articles on your topic. Suggested journal databases in this guide will help you begin.

6. Log methods and terms you use with databases (such as Art Source) or search engines (such as Google) to minimize search replication and to keep track of your research strategies.

8. Citing resources accurately both during your research and for required papers will help you keep track of your sources during your research and will allow you to share your journey with others.

7. Evaluate resources you use by identifying the origin of your source and analzying content for authority, objectivity, accuracy, currency, depth and  breadth.

Questions?

Mo Dawley
Art and Drama Librarian

Contact Info:
Hunt Library
Art Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Art Research Guide
Drama Research Guide

Send Email

 


ArtStor image:Campo Mussolini, Exposition Poster.

Accessing Databases Off-Campus?

You should be able to log in remotely to any database with your user ID and password. If you have problems try the following..


Download Cisco AnyConnect to your computer

Library Resources Group

If CMU Libraries don't have what you need..

If CMU Libraries don't have what you need:
Ask a Librarian
Interlibrary Loan