Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Visual Resources, Arts Library: Visual Resources

About this guide

Visual Resources



 

 


        Use this research guide to: 
  • Find high-quality digital images for educational use
  • Learn about digital image databases and visual resources available through the University Libraries and the internet

Image Databases

Artstor logoArtstor
Over two million high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. See the Using Artstor guide and Instructor's Guide to Artstor for helpful tips.  




AP Images logoAP Images
Regional, state, national and international news photographs and historical images.





Bridgeman Education logoBridgeman Education
Over 1,000,000 digital images of art, history, and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use. See Bridgeman's user manual for search tips.



CAMIO logoCAMIO
Images of works of art from around the world.





Credo Reference Image Search logoCredo Reference Image Search
Drag and drop images from the database to your desktop to use in a paper or presentation.





Image Collection, CMU Libraries logoImage Collection, CMU Libraries
A growing collection of high-quality digital images selected by and for Carnegie Mellon users, with primary focus on art and architecture.




Swiss Poster Collection logoSwiss Poster Collection
Graphic design excellence collected between 1970 and 2010 by designer and typographer Ruedi Ruegg; donated to CMU.

 

More Image Resources

Contribute to the Image Collection
Recommend digital images to add to the Image Collection for classroom teaching. Contact the Arts Resources Specialist for more details.


Browse Digital Image Collections
A comprehensive list of digital collections to browse for images.

Working from off campus?

Access to some resources may require authentication through the EZProxy service by entering your Andrew ID and password.

Report electronic access problems to: 
ul-ezproxy-support@andrew.cmu.edu

More about Off-Campus/ Wireless access

Tools to create visuals

Canva
Free design tool to create graphics, presentations, and more. iPad app available.

Infogr.am
Create charts and infographics with this data visualization tool​

Photovisi
Photo collage maker

Contact Me

Maranda Reilly's picture
Maranda Reilly
Contact:
Hunt Library, 4th Floor
412-268-1407

Artstor Blog

ARTstor logo

Loading

Google Images




 

  

Use Google Images for quick reference or as a starting point.
Tip: Use Advanced Image Search to find images labeled for reuse.

Image Databases always offer high quality images and metadata. 

Metropolitan Museum of Art, Artwork of the Day

Loading