Databases - Design: 51-611 MA Studio I - Visual Communication Fundamentals

Keywords & Search Terms

public health - community health - health care services
mental health - mental health services - behavioral health
substance abuse - drug addiction - substance use
therapy - treatment - treatment barriers - rehabilitation - counseling
adults - youth - teenagers - addicts - family relationships
community health professionals - healthcare professionals - social workers
services - referral - training - advocacy - intervention - communication - access - public information
case study - program evaluation - program development - assessment - quality improvement
campaign - visual communication - design and human factors

Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
"ProQuest Public Health is a new and unique database; designed to be the ideal starting point for public health information and research. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text."
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Social Work Online This link opens in a new window
Recently published social work textbooks along with compelling documentaries clinical demonstration videos, and engaging lectures that illustrate the complex and challenging realities social work students will face as practitioners.
Sociology Database This link opens in a new window
(1985-current) This database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including relevant titles from related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, social psychology and population studies.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
The most comprehensive resource on the market for communication research and offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content.

Hanlon, C.A., Chopra, J., Boland, J., McIlroy, D., Poole, H. and Saini, P. (2022), "James’ Place model: application of a novel clinical, community-based intervention for the prevention of suicide among men", Journal of Public Mental Health, Vol. 21 No. 1, pp. 82-92.

Damian, A. J., Gallo, J. J., & Mendelson, T. (2018). Barriers and facilitators for access to mental health services by traumatized youth. Children and Youth Services Review, 85, 273–278.

Configure Google Scholar so you can access CMU licensed materials.

Western Pennsylvania Regional Data Center This link opens in a new window
Open data portal of the City of Pittsburgh and Allegheny county, providing free access to regional datasets on a wide range of topics.

ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Premium US News content including such leading papers as The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal. Also includes Pittsburgh Post-Gazette and New Pittsburgh Courier.