Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Academic Articles
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially-curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses. (ProQuest). Database Guide
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Citations with full-text links for economics research from journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and working papers.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
"Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites." - About Google Scholar
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Reports and data on international economics, energy, development, education, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, agriculture, industry, science, social expenditures, trade, transportation, etc. from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development.
OxResearch This link opens in a new window
A subset of the Business Market Research Collection database, it includes succinct analytical articles covering world and regional economic and political developments of major significance. It evaluates issues and events within a coherent political, social and economic framework. Additionally, it contains objective, multi-disciplinary articles compiled by an extensive international network of over 1,000 faculty members at Oxford and other leading universities around the world, as well as think-tanks and institutes of international standing. Created by Oxford Analytica, this powerful multi-disciplinary database helps students research and analyze the impact of probable developments on the business climate.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Public affairs, public and social policies, international relations, 1915-present. Database Guide
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
Related Research Guides
Policy Analysis Guide
This guide provides a wealth of resources for conducting policy analysis at the US federal, state and local levels.
This guide provides links and guidance to access national and international news sources via the libraries' collection.
Corporate Policy Resources
For information and resources to find corporate policies, see this guide.
This guide provides resources and guidance to doing company research.
Statistics and Data
If you're looking for numbers to back up your arguments, try some of these resources.
DataPlanet Statistical Datasets This link opens in a new window
Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.
Includes access to the Global Consumer Survey, a resource that offers global consumption and media usage data of consumers. A great market research tool for consumer behavior and interactions with brands. Select the Global Survey tab within Statista.
ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Thousands of statistical publications on all topics. Recent data is available here; earlier data is on microfiche in Hunt Library. Database Guide
EU Open Data Portal
The European Union Open Data Portal (EU ODP) provides access to an expanding range of data from the European Union (EU) institutions and other EU bodies."
International Statistical Agencies
Prepared by the U. S. Census Bureau, links to the statistical agenices of all countries.
OECD iLibrary Statistics
Multiple international datasets from the OECD, covering all topics: agriculture, health, economics, patents, R&D, migration, telecommunication, etc., plus all energy industry data from the IEA.
This site provides a portal into the wealth of data and statistics collected by the United Nations. Topics covered include health, demography, migration, employment, income, trade and much more.
World Bank datasets for development indicators for all countries in finance, communications, environment, education, labor, health, and economics, current and historical.
Resources for Negotiators
The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC)
The website for the UN's climate change secretariat. Includes information about global climate change agreements, statements on climate action and official documents and decisions, searchable here
by country, topic, document type etc..
The United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC) Submission Portal
See submissions by type, body, sessions, year, submitter, language. Use these menus (in the dark blue bar) to create tags, then click search. You'll then need to browse through results to see all for your country.
The website of the World Bank, an international financial organization that provides loans and develops and administers financial programs. Also collects and provide data via their Open Data portal.
International Energy Agency
"The IEA works to ensure reliable, affordable and clean energy for its 30 member countries and beyond. Their mission is guided by four main areas of focus: energy security, economic development, environmental awareness and engagement worldwide."
OECD Climate Change Expert Group
The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development Climate Change Expert Group works to "promote dialogue on and enhance understanding of politically important technical issues in the international climate change negotiations".
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC)
"The international body for assessing the science related to climate change. The IPCC was set up in 1988 by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) to provide policymakers with regular assessments of the scientific basis of climate change, its impacts and future risks, and options for adaptation and mitigation."
Green Climate Fund
"The Green Climate Fund (GCF) is a new global fund created to support the efforts of developing countries to respond to the challenge of climate change."
"A UK-based website covering the latest developments in climate science, climate policy and energy policy".
Formerly CAIT Climate Data Explorer, this website provides a portal to "open data, visualizations and analysis to help policymakers, researchers and other stakeholders gather insights on countries' climate progress."
Columbia Climate Center
Based at Columbia University, this center brings together research from across domains to develop strategies for climate change mitigation.
Harvard Project on Climate Agreements
"Identifies and communicates scientifically sound, economically sensible, and politically pragmatic public policy options for addressing global climate change."
Resources for the Future (RFF)
Nonprofit, nonpartisan organization which does independent research on environmental and natural resource issues. News briefs, discussion papers, etc.
Stockholm Environment Institute
This is a non-profit research and policy institute with a focus on the environment, climate change and sustainable development.
World Resources Institute
The WRI is an environmental research and policy organization. Their site provides access to Earth Trends, their environmental information portal, which contains a searchable database, data tables, country profiles, and maps.
Resources for Lobbyists & Activists
Finding Think Tank Publications
In addition to going to specific think tank websites, try the following database to search across think tank publications on a particular topic.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Access to reports and information produced by prominent policy institutes, "think tank" and non-governmental organizations (NGOs). Database Guide
Finding NGO Websites
Websites of environmental NGOs
These databases include articles from trade journals, which can provide insights into the perspectives of different industrial sectors. Try the following in either of these databases:
- Search for "climate change"
- Use the Source Type filter on the left to limit the search to Trade Publications
- Click on the Publication or Publication Title filter to explore the different trade journals that came up in your search. The titles should tell you something about the industry represented by that publication.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape. Database Guide
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines, including the Harvard Business Review; also industry, company, and country reports.
There are many trade organizations and associations that provide a platform for industry-wide perspectives and policy positions. Try searching Google for an industry along with the word 'association' to find the key representatives in different sectors. For example, try the following searches in Google:
- coal association
- petroleum association
- transportation association
Finally, you can find statements about the environment on the websites of major companies in particular industries, like BP or the Honda Motor Company. Look under the About Us or Who We Are sections for company statements about the environment. You can also search Google with the company name and the term environment: GE environment.