Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your Research Impact
These databases will help you determine the impact of your research. To understand more about metrics, please see the guide Measuring Your Research Impact.
Database Overview-Digital Science
Altmetric Explorer This link opens in a new window
"[Altmetric's]" mission is to track and analyse the online activity around scholarly research outputs." Use this database to observe the attention that your scholarly articles are receiving.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics, with emphasis on citation analysis. Scival feature requires registration but is free to CMU affiliates.
SciVal This link opens in a new window
SciVal uses the data of the Scopus database to allow researchers, labs or departments to quickly explore the impact of their work. You'll need to register for use. When off-campus, connect to Full VPN access.
Database Overview-Clarivate Analytics
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new window
Size, citation count and impact factor for scholarly journals in science and social science.
, Ethnic & Gender Studies
, General Topics
, Information Systems
, Language & Linguistics
, Public Policy
, Social & Decision Sciences
, Women's Studies