Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Philosophy Department: Collection Policy

This guide provides resources to support teaching and research for the department of Philosophy at Carnegie Mellon University.

Selection Criteria

Collection Development Policy for Philosophy                                                                                                                                                                                                            Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

09/14/2011


A. Purpose

The collection supports present and anticipated teaching and research in the field of Philosophy and its subdisciplines.  This department is not traditional, but interdisciplinary in nature.  Its focus is on the philosophy of science, mathematics, logic, computational linguistics, and the philosophy of social sciences. 

 

About the Department:

The department offers the following degrees: 

  1. Undergraduate:  B.A in Philosophy, B.A. in Linguistics, B.A./B.S. Ethics, History, & Public Policy, and a B.S. in Logic & Computation,  with minors in Philosophy, Logic & Computation, Ethics, and Linguistics. 
  2. Graduate:  M.S. in Logic & Computation, M.A. in Philosophy, PhD in Logic & Computation, and PhD in Philosophy
  3. Cross Disciplinary Degrees:  B.A. / B.S. Environmental Studies, and an M.S. Knowledge Discovery & Data Mining, in addition to a program in Interdisciplinary Educational Research (PIER), which is a pre-doctoral training program.

There are primarily 3 Research Areas:

  1. Philosophy of Mathematics and Logic:  This area includes Categorical Logic, Computability and Automated Proof Research, Philosophy and History of Mathematics, Philosophy of Language, Philosophical Logic, and Proof Theory.
  2. Philosophy of Science & Methodology:  This area includes Belief Revision, Cognitive Science and Philosophy of Mind, Computational Epistemology, Induction and Learning, Inductive Logic and Statistics, Philosophy of Social Sciences, Rational Choice, Decision Theory and Game Theory, Theory of Causation.
  3. Ethics and Value Theory: This area includes Bioethics, Business and Professional Ethics, Criminal Justice Policy, Conflict and Dispute Resolution, Methodology in Theoretical and Applied Ethics, Political Philsophy, Technology Enhanced Learning in Ethics.

 

B. Scope

B.1. Languages

English will be the primary language of collection.  Materials in the major European Languages will be acquired selectively, and in the original only if no translation is available.

 

B.2. Geographical Guidelines

Departmental emphasis is on western philosophy, but eastern philosophical works may be collected based on interdisciplinary relevance to the department.

 

B.3. Chronological Guidelines

There is an emphasis on contemporary information, but important materials (such as classic work, and works of historical research relevance).

 

C. Types of Material

C.1. Treatment of Subject

Collected:  Books and publications in the areas described above are collected.  Materials relating to the history of philosophy, its practice and methods, political aspects, and scientific or computational methods are acquired.  Materials relevant to the philosophy in some areas of social sciences are also considered (such as art, psychology, and political science).

Not Collected: Textbooks and popular treatments of philosophy.

C.2. Formats

Scholarly monographs, serial publications, and electronic texts form the basis for acquisition.  Reference materials, including handbooks, dictionaries and encyclopedias are acquired.  Theses and dissertations of national and international organizations, societies and congresses are acquired on selective bases.

 

D.  Levels of Current Collecting Intensity by Subject*

SUBJECT CLASSIFICATION

CALL NUMBER RANGES

LANGUAGE LEVEL

CODE

Philosophy

Aesthetics/Arts

Ethics

Epistemology (Theory of Knowledge)

Language/Linguistics

Literature

Logic

Metaphysics

Ontology

Political Science

Psychology

Science/ Computation/Decision Theory/I.A.

B1-B5739

BH1-301, N, NX

BJ1-1725

BD143-237

PN3329-3352

BL1145-BV4950

BC1-199

BD95-131

BD300-450

JA81-88

BF1-990

QA1-939

E

E

E

E

E

E

E

E

E

E

E

E

3b

3b

2b

3a

3a

3a

3a

3a

3a

2b

3a

3b

* Subject Classifications are intended as general indications; specific subjects might use other classifications.

 

E.  Collecting Responsibility: 

The Philosophy library liaison is primarily responsible for collecting library materials in support the department.  Close consultation with the Department’s Library Representative, faculty, students, and appropriate library staff is an essential aspect of these responsibilities.

 

F.  Other Resources

Important supplementary resources exist at the University of Pittsburgh’s Hillman and Computer Science Libraries, Duquesne University’s Gumberg Library, and the Pittsburgh Theological Seminary Library. 

 

G.  Related Policy Statements

Other relevant information related to Philosophy maybe in addressed in collection policies for other disciplines.  Feel free to ask me for assistance in consulting other policies.