Learn about the Carnegie Mellon University Libraries Artists' Books Collection, find key reference works on artists books, a list of special journal issues on artists' books and links to book arts centers, libraries and organizations.
There is a plethora of information openly accessible on the web about artists books, with many images and visual archives cited in this guide.
You might also want to check these out:
For example: Here's a search on Lygia Clarke which then give many other different artist's book works
Art and Drama Librarian
Art Research Guide
Drama Research Guide
Environment Interdisciplinary Research Guide
The Artists' Books Collection is housed in the Arts Library and the Fine and Rare Book Room at Hunt Library and now in its third decade of development, currently containing over 1,000 works. The collection has evolved into a viable tool for teaching, research and exhibitions as a component to the curriculums of The College of Fine Arts, BXA and to others across disciplines on campus, locally, regionally and nationally who are drawn to the diversity of ideas, themes and formats characterized by the collection.
Artists' books are sensorial works which transcend the notion of the book as an ordinary medium. The nature of the genre is to inspire a continual process of re-envisioning the sum of our minds, senses, emotions and the the endless possibilities that result from that experience. As such, artists’ books are manifest in every imaginable (and unimaginable) form and delve into all aspects of life and the human condition. The Carnegie Mellon collection includes works from the exquisitely crafted original to the cheap copy: book sculptures, flip-books, sound works, "virtual installations", matchbooks, books you can't "open", revealing diaries, activist manuals, interactive postcards, and poetic metamorphoses, to name a few. Most of the works date from 1980 to the present, with some prime examples from the 1960s and 1970s.
We collect artists' books from many sources, including individual international artists and established artist book distributors and publishers as well as works by students, faculty and alumni of Carnegie Mellon.
Here's a short article on teaching with artists' books at Carnegie Mellon in the University Libraries publication Boundless (scroll to page 8)
Search the Library Catalog
This will give you a fairly comprehensive list of artists books (and books about artists' books) in the collection search the phrase "artists books" (in quotations). You can also combine that search to include the name of an artist or title of a book if you know it.
Also, if you know of an artist book publisher you can search by the organization: such as Art Metropole, Lapp Princess Press, Printed Matter, Visual Studies Workshop, Women's Studio Workshop...
Related topics (among many) associated with artists' books are artistic photography, book design, book binding, computer art, conceptual art, diary or diaries, mail art, copy art, Fluxus, illustrated books, narrative art, notebook or notebooks, postcard or postcards, sketchbook or sketchbooks, toy and movable books, book jackets.
Locations in Hunt Library
Many artists' books are non-circulating and designated with the location SPEC (Fine and Rare Book Room) in the library catalog. To see or consult about the artists' books or schedule a class, request an appointment.
There are some artists books and books about artists books in the open stacks of the 4th floor of Hunt Library at various locations and call numbers. Open locations will be indicated in the library catalog.
Sun Young Kang. 머리카락(Hair). Buffalo, NY: Sun Young Kang.
Artists' Books - SPEC-ABM-4 N7433.4 .K348 H35x 2018
Embroidery using artist’s own hair on handmade Japanese paper, museum board, transfer print for colophon, Size: 85” x 5” x 3” (open size), 3” x 5” x 0.5” (closed)
Colophon: “I feel estranged by myself being disgusted by my own hairs on the floor. Once, they were precious as part of me. But once they are shed, I alienate them and even hate them. So, I decide to collect my hairs that I lose as my way of embracing both of the feelings toward myself— the obsession and contempt."
Julia Hou. Asterisk. Carnegie Mellon University, 2019.
Artists' Books - Born digital interactive
A Pack of Lies : exploring the history and phenomenology of untruths
Artists' Books - SPEC-ABM-4 N7433.4 .V568 P33X 2017
"Here for your inspection is a deck of playing cards produced by the artists of the Virginia Arts of the Book Center, a sign of our troubled times when the distinctions between fact and fabrication, reality and distortion, honesty and bunk seem sinisterly shuffled. We might as well then acquaint ourselves fully with the lie in its many forms, its argumentative acumen, its historical high tides, not to mention its infernal and eternal legends."
Ruth Bryant. Scar Study. Portland, OR : Ruth Bryant.
Artists' Books - SPEC-ABS-4 N7433.4 .B779 S337x 2016
A sculptural and textual exploration about the way trauma manifests in the body.
Clarissa Sligh. Transforming Hate | An Artist's Book. Asheville, North Carolina : Clarissa T. Sligh.
Artists' Books - SPEC-ABS-4 N7433.4 .S54 T73X 2016
A response to a proposal from the Montana Human Rights Network asking artists to make artwork that would "incorporate, respond to, or transform" pages from The White Man's Bible, a white suprematist book.
F. Hagstrom, M. Koehler, M., & J.Weisberg. Bravo . Saint Paul, Minneasota: Strong Silent Type Press,
Artists' books SPEC-ABQ-4 N7433.4 .H19 B738X 2016
A visceral book on nuclear weapons testing on the Marshall Islands, Binkin Atoll in 1954 and its effects.