Skip to Main Content

Databases, eResources, & Tools

A listing of databases, datasets, and research support tools.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Content includes: Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Popular Music of the World; 170 volumes of the widely acclaimed 33 1/3 and 33 1/3 Global book series, providing in depth analysis of influential albums across diverse musical eras, by artists ranging from Caetano Veloso to Public Enemy; an expanding range of scholarly books from Bloomsbury’s popular music studies list, comprising edited volumes, biographies, and historical overviews; an illustrated Timeline of Popular Music back to 1900; an interactive World Map enables users to navigate to books and articles covering a particular country or region that is most relevant to their work; and artist pages including curated related content, and biographical information on hundreds of artists and musicians. Trial access ends on September 30, 2021.
New
Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
New
Dedicated to exploring how medical disasters of the past inform the present response to the COVID-19 pandemic, this database brings together federal government reports, hearings, and more. Content that is COVID-19 specific is organized into the following areas of focus: Economic Impact, Global Impact, Health Care Impact, and Societal Impact, with a separate subcollection exclusive to Past Pandemics.
Trial
CSI Digital is the robust and innovative online home for the nationally award-winning Cincinnati Song Initiative. This exclusive hub comprises recordings of performances that took place live, as well as original content produced for digital consumption. Explore CSI Mainstage Concerts, Beyond the Song Webinars, Composer Interviews, and the Complete Concert Archives. Trial access expires on December 17, 2021.
New
Providing primary and secondary source material such as government documents from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches, as well as law review articles and books, this database explores executive privilege from the country's founding to the present day.
New
Backfile of one of the longest-running, most influential men's magazines from its launch in 1931 (as Apparel Arts), with ongoing addition of new issues.
New
The backfiles of U. S. and U.K. consumer magazines devoted to health and fitness topics. With publications aimed at a male readership (e.g. Flex, Men’s Health) and women’s titles (e.g. Women’s Health, Women’s Health Activist), this collection supports research in topics such as the history of sex roles, body image, fitness/exercise, public health, food/nutrition, and medicine. The backfile of Prevention (from 1950) offers over six decades of content reflecting contemporary developments in these areas.
New
A collection of English-language newspapers and periodicals spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
New
LLMC, the Law Library Microform Consortium, is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. Includes a wide selection of legal and government titles from all states, as well as some international content. Dates vary based on titles.
Trial
Maison ONA is an independent publishing house for new music based in Paris since 2013. Explore full access to their entire catalog online, including over 150 digital scores and multimedia files from 18 prestigious composers (Bedrossian, Cendo, Ferrari, Henry, Liao, Pesson etc.). Trial access ends on October 29, 2021. Please send comments to Kristin Heath.
New
1845-present. A collection of men’s-interest magazine backfiles serving research in men’s studies/history but also offering important additional perspectives for women’s studies. It includes some of the earliest publications of this type – National Police Gazette and Argosy – and covers key topics such as fashion, sports, health, and arts/entertainment.
New
Thousands of diverse publications related to the history, glory, might, and daily nitty-gritty of administrating America's fighting forces. Content focuses on the function of the federal government in administrating the armed forces, the armed forces' structural changes over time, and the issues confronting service personnel both on and off the battlefield. Coverage is from the American Revolution on up to the present War on Terror, with selected titles from English military history to supplement understanding of the development of America's own military law.
New
This access to the New York Times requires creating an account and logging in with your CMU email address. Access lasts until the graduation date the student enters when registering, 1 year for faculty and staff (renewable). Limitations: Unlimited access to NYT articles 1851-present except for 1923-1980 where the limit is 5 articles per day. Does not include e-reader editions, crosswords or other games, or other premier content. Includes app access, though not all devices support NYT apps.
New
An archive of Newsweek magazine, one of the premier US weeklies of the 20th -21st centuries.
New
The Open Society Justice Initiative, part of the Open Society Foundations, was established in 2003 to provide expert legal support for its broader mission and values through strategic human rights litigation and other legal work. They publish reports, handbooks, briefing papers, legal and policy submissions, and fact sheets exploring and advocating on issues of human rights and justice.
New
An online content platform providing commentary on topics of current significance related to policy, current events, democracy, international relations, economics and more. It is written for a global audience by prominent political leaders policymakers, scholars, business leaders and civil activists from around the world. You can register for a free personal account to receive newsletters, bookmark articles and follow specific authors.
New
The largest database of music journalism online containing over 40,000 articles, interviews, and reviews on acts from ABBA to Zappa. The archive draws on numerous publications from Creem and Trouser Press to Rolling Stone, and from New Musical Express and Melody Maker to MOJO. It is fully searchable by artist, genre, writer or keyword (allowing search by album or single title, date etc.). Rock’s Backpages also features a library of over 600 audio interviews.
New
SAGE Campus provides access to a growing collection of online courses on introductory skills and research methods including critical thinking, data literacy, research design, R and Python, statistical methods and more. NOTE: You must create an account by clicking on the "Register" link in the upper right-hand corner using your CMU email address. If you are an instructor, please contact Sarah Young to upgrade your account in order to manage student cohorts.
New
A web-based text mining platform that allows you to access and analyze large amounts of text data. Using content retrieved from ProQuest database, you can build your corpus and conduct data analysis, text mining, and visualization using your preferred methods to uncover relationships, patterns, and connections within and between datasets while collaborating with colleagues in real-time on one platform. To access a workbench, you must submit a request.To find information on how to do this, visit this guide.
New
offers comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications in multiple languages. Many of the world’s most notable writers, critics and thinkers have contributed to the TLS, making it a rich resource for following the developments of debate, opinion and perspective.
New
An open source plug-in for Chrome and Firefox to facilitate access to open access peer-reviewed research.
New
Unique periodicals from 1940-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture such as fashion, rock and roll, sports, sexuality, dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. These unique periodicals provide insight to what has and continues to influence youth culture, especially during times of rapid social and cultural change in the U.S. and the UK. At completion, this collection will have 250,000 pages from periodicals published in the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...