Containing publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more, this database covers civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
Dedicated to exploring how medical disasters of the past inform the present response to the COVID-19 pandemic, this database brings together federal government reports, hearings, and more. Content that is COVID-19 specific is organized into the following areas of focus: Economic Impact, Global Impact, Health Care Impact, and Societal Impact, with a separate subcollection exclusive to Past Pandemics.
The electrothèque web app allows you to listen to selected works culled from the empreintes DIGITALes catalogue and its composers. Founded in 1990, empreintes DIGITALes is considered the reference label in electroacoustics, acousmatics and musique concrète. electrothèque is accessible on mobile devices (iOS, Android, etc.), tablets, on laptops as well as good old desktop computers. The music featured on this site is available for online streaming purposes only. Downloading or saving are not allowed.
Providing primary and secondary source material such as government documents from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches, as well as law review articles and books, this database explores executive privilege from the country's founding to the present day.
The backfiles of U. S. and U.K. consumer magazines devoted to health and fitness topics. With publications aimed at a male readership (e.g. Flex, Men’s Health) and women’s titles (e.g. Women’s Health, Women’s Health Activist), this collection supports research in topics such as the history of sex roles, body image, fitness/exercise, public health, food/nutrition, and medicine. The backfile of Prevention (from 1950) offers over six decades of content reflecting contemporary developments in these areas.
A collection of English-language newspapers and periodicals spanning beyond the 20th century (1845-2015) covering Communist, Socialist and Marxist thought, theory and practice. Issues covered include workers’ rights, organized labor, labor strikes, Nazi atrocities, McCarthyism’s rise after WWII, Civil Rights, and modern-day class struggles which give rise to renewed interest in alternative social organizations. This collection includes 145 titles with over 150,000 digitized pages.
Weekly African-American newspaper based in Detroit, Michigan. It was founded in 1936 by John H. Sengstacke, owner of the Chicago Defender. The Chronicle garnered national attention in its early years for its "radical" approach to politics. It advocated on behalf of both organized labor and the Democratic Party, both unusual in an era when the union movement was often seen as hostile to Black workers and the Southern-influenced Democratic Party frequently accepted racist policies.
LLMC, the Law Library Microform Consortium, is a non-profit cooperative of libraries dedicated to the twin goals of, preserving legal titles and government documents, while making copies inexpensively available digitally through its on-line service LLMC-Digital. Includes a wide selection of legal and government titles from all states, as well as some international content. Dates vary based on titles.
1845-present. A collection of men’s-interest magazine backfiles serving research in men’s studies/history but also offering important additional perspectives for women’s studies. It includes some of the earliest publications of this type – National Police Gazette and Argosy – and covers key topics such as fashion, sports, health, and arts/entertainment.
Thousands of diverse publications related to the history, glory, might, and daily nitty-gritty of administrating America's fighting forces. Content focuses on the function of the federal government in administrating the armed forces, the armed forces' structural changes over time, and the issues confronting service personnel both on and off the battlefield. Coverage is from the American Revolution on up to the present War on Terror, with selected titles from English military history to supplement understanding of the development of America's own military law.
This access to the New York Times requires creating an account and logging in with your CMU email address. Access lasts until the graduation date the student enters when registering, 1 year for faculty and staff (renewable). Limitations: Unlimited access to NYT articles 1851-present except for 1923-1980 where the limit is 5 articles per day. Does not include e-reader editions, crosswords or other games, or other premier content. Includes app access, though not all devices support NYT apps.
The American Bar Association's Preview of United States Supreme Court Cases provides comprehensive expert analysis of all cases argued before the Supreme Court prior to the arguments. Issues 1-7 summarize the Court's seven argument sessions from October through April and Issue 8 reviews the entire term using statistics, charts, essays, and case summaries. Covers 1973-present.
The largest database of music journalism online containing over 40,000 articles, interviews, and reviews on acts from ABBA to Zappa. The archive draws on numerous publications from Creem and Trouser Press to Rolling Stone, and from New Musical Express and Melody Maker to MOJO. It is fully searchable by artist, genre, writer or keyword (allowing search by album or single title, date etc.). Rock’s Backpages also features a library of over 600 audio interviews.
SAGE Campus provides access to a growing collection ofonline courses on introductory skills and research methods including critical thinking, data literacy, research design, R and Python, statistical methods and more. Send comments to Sarah Young
A web-based text mining platform that allows you to access and analyze large amounts of text data. Using content retrieved from ProQuest database, you can build your corpus and conduct data analysis, text mining, and visualization using your preferred methods to uncover relationships, patterns, and connections within and between datasets while collaborating with colleagues in real-time on one platform. To access a workbench, you must submit a request.To find information on how to do this, visit this guide.
offers comprehensive coverage of the latest and most important publications in multiple languages. Many of the world’s most notable writers, critics and thinkers have contributed to the TLS, making it a rich resource for following the developments of debate, opinion and perspective.
Unique periodicals from 1940-present, highlighting topics and trends of youth culture such as fashion, rock and roll, sports, sexuality, dating, as well as youth portrayal in the media. These unique periodicals provide insight to what has and continues to influence youth culture, especially during times of rapid social and cultural change in the U.S. and the UK. At completion, this collection will have 250,000 pages from periodicals published in the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada.