Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collections, Papers, and Diaries
Industrial Hygiene Collection (Mellon Institute Library Special Collections)
Housed at Carnegie Mellon's Mellon Institute Library, the collection includes a wide variety of materials on the environmental health issues of workers, such as: publications from the Air Hygiene Foundation of America, Inc., (1936-1940); the Industrial Hygiene Foundation of America, Inc., (1941-1969); and the Industrial Health Foundation (1970-present). Materials also include journals, annual reports, information circulars, and bulletins from the Chemistry and Toxicology Series, Legal Series, Medical Series, Management Series, Nursing Series, Preventive Engineering Series, as well as Proceedings, etc.
Margaret Sanger Papers: Collected Documents
Consists of a considerable amount of Margaret Sanger's outgoing public and private correspondence as well as essential early documentation of her work with the American Birth Control League, which she founded in 1921, and which later evolved into the Planned Parenthood Federation of America. This collection also contains records tracing Sanger's international work in the 1920s and 1930s, and her later role in helping to found the International Planned Parenthood
Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College Collections
Consists of a considerable amount of Margaret Sanger's personal papers and records of the birth control movement. Beginning in 1946 and continuing until her death in 1966, Sanger contributed to the Sophia Smith Collection at Smith College, in Northampton, Massachusetts, a historic trove of documents related to birth control, women's rights, suffrage, feminism, reform and social work, arts, and middle-class family life. In addition to contributing her own papers to this collection, Sanger encouraged friends, family, and co-workers in the birth control movement to donate their papers.
NLM Digital Collections
The National Library of Medicine's free online repository of biomedical resources including books, manuscripts, still images, videos, and maps. The content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich historical resources, as well as select modern resources.