Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

99-519: Documenting the History of Policing and Campus Safety at CMU

This guide provides resources and information that might be useful for this course.

Our Goals

  • Survey the collections
  • Identify collections that have materials of interest
  • Create records in Zotero
  • Create documentation so you or someone else can easily find these materials in the future
  • Identify gaps or holes in the University Archives collections

Workflow - updated 5/25/2022

In general, we want to document at the folder level. There may be instances where we might want to document an item or a group of items. 

Found in the archive:

FOLDER LEVEL

  • Create a new citation in Zotero in the "University Archives" folder. Be sure to include:
    • Collection Name
    • Box Number
    • Folder number (if available)
    • Notes (what types of materials? (reports, memos, newsletters?) what's the date range? who/what department is the creator

ITEM LEVEL

  • Using a scanning app, capture item and export as a PDF. Include all relevant pages.
    • Save the file using the file naming convention found here.
  • Create a new citation in Zotero in the "University Archives" folder and attach the PDF.

 

Found in the Digital Collections:

  • TBD

For more information, see the Citing Primary Sources from the Archives in Zotero tab.


Found online, outside the Digital Collections:

  • Create a new citation in Zotero in the "New Sources" folder.
    • Include the item's URL in the metadata.
  • Download any reports or documents as Pdfs from the website and attach the files in Zotero.
    • Follow the file naming conventions found here.

 

Found on campus, outside the Archives

  • Using a scanning app, capture item and export as a PDF. Include all relevant pages.
    • Follow the file naming conventions found here.
  • Create a new citation in Zotero in the "New Sources" folder and attach the PDF.
  • Drop off the physical item in the Archives' reading room.

For more information see the Citation Management with Zotero tab.

How to name your files

When saving files follow the naming convention bellow:

Found in Archives

  • Collection Code_Box#-Folder#_item#
    • example: ESP_B04-FF24_01.pdf
    • If there is no folder number: ESP_B04_01.pdf

Student Publications (SPC)

  • Collection code- publication code_year-Volume-Issue_page
    • Student Publication Collection, Tartan, 1972, Volume 73, Issue 1, page 5
    • example: SPC-T_1972-V73-I01_05.pdf

Found outside of University Archives and Digital Collection

  • Use collection code "NEW" followed by the year (if applicable) then title. 
    • example: New_1998-PD-Annual-report