CMU LibGuides: History: Primary Sources: Audio/Visual

Audio/Visual

Art/Images

AP Images Collection This link opens in a new window
The Associated Press (AP) Images Collection™ captures the greatest events in history and brings them to life through photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text.
Artstor on JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Over two million high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. NOTE: Artstor is now in JSTOR
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
Over two million digital images of art, history, and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
Wellcome Images This link opens in a new window
Over 100,000 images available for free download as hi-res images, including historical content such as manuscripts, paintings, etchings, early photography and advertisements and 'themes around medicine and the wider history of health.'
Artsy Education This link opens in a new window
An educational resource containing 85,000+ digital images of artworks and architecture (25,000+ downloadable), including one of the largest collections of contemporary art. Offers tips related to downloading, exploring, and teaching with digital images.

Sound

Sound Collections Database
The first release of a database supported by the Radio Preservation Task Force, National Recording Preservation Board of the Library of Congress (RPTF) and Association for Recorded Sound Collections (ARSC). Browse or search nearly 3000 records describing recorded sound collections in repositories around the country. Genres include radio programs, all varieties of music, radio news, oral histories, interviews, drama, educational programs, and more.
Race Relations in America: Audio
Over 100 hours of audio recordings, bringing the work of the Race Relations Department to life. Listen to eminent sociologists, civil rights activists, anthropologists, industry leaders and others participating in panel discussions and delivering speeches at the annual Race Relations Institutes. Also available are dictations of reports and the narration of the film slideshows 'Of a New Day Begun' and 'Rebirth in Roxbury'. Where possible, interactive and searchable transcriptions accompany the audio. Some typed transcriptions and drafts of speeches are also available in the document collection, and links have been provided to these within the metadata.

Video

Revolution and Protest Online This link opens in a new window
Revolution and Protest Online explores the protest movements, revolutions, and civil wars that have transformed societies and human experience from the 18th century through the present. Organized around more than thirty events and areas, representing a variety of time periods, regions, and topics, this collection includes at completion 175 hours of video, 100,000 pages of printed materials (personal papers, organizations, government documents, journals, reports, monographs, and speeches), and more than 1,000 images. Database Guide
Sixties Video Titles This link opens in a new window
Fifty hours of primary footage and secondary documentaries that explore the key events of the sixties and early seventies, including the civil rights movement, the women's rights movement and the sexual revolution. It features interviews with major players of the decade, including political leaders John F. Kennedy, Robert Kennedy, and Richard Nixon, and revolutionaries such as Martin Luther King, Malcolm X, Cesar Chavez, and Elaine Brown.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vanderbilt Television News Archive is one of the most extensive and complete archives of television news anywhere in the world. We have been recording, preserving, and providing access to television news broadcasts of the U.S. national networks since August 5, 1968. The core collection includes daily evening news programs from ABC, CBS, and NBC along with CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).
World Newsreels Online: 1929-1966 This link opens in a new window
A streaming video product which captures full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Newsreels are in English, French and Japanese.

History Librarian

Charlotte Kiger Price

she/her

Contact:

Hunt Library 109E
Pittsburgh, PA

Subjects: Education, Ethnic & Gender Studies, First Year Writing, History, Language & Linguistics, Law & Legal, Reference, Religion, Women's Studies