Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Unique to CMU
The Carnegie Mellon University Architecture Archives was created in 1984 to collect, conserve and promote the use of architectural records that document the architects and architecture of Pittsburgh and the tri-state region of western Pennsylvania, eastern Ohio and northern West Virginia. The collections have grown to include thousands of drawings and blueprints, extensive files of manuscripts and photographs, and a number of architectural models -- records that document the work of hundreds of designers. These records have been gifts from architects and firms, architects' families, property owners and governments.
The digitized collections vary in content to include personal papers, university publications, and newspapers.
KiltHub (Carnegie Mellon) This link opens in a new window
Provided by the University Libraries, KiltHub is the comprehensive institutional repository and research collaboration platform for research data and scholarly outputs produced by members of Carnegie Mellon University and their collaborators.
Posner Memorial Collection
The Posner Memorial Collection includes more than 1,000 volumes of great books that document ideas that have shaped the world. Starting with literature and decorative books arts, Henry Posner Sr. collected from 1924 to 1973. After 1950, he focused on the history of science. Mr. and Mrs. Posner also collected small objets d’art in glass, ivory, jade and other minerals from Asia and Europe.
Special Collections is responsible for many of Carnegie Mellon University’s rare and unique materials. The rare book collection, housed in the Fine and Rare Book Room (Hunt Library, 4th floor) and in Posner Center, is strongest in the history of printing and graphic design, 19th century English and American literature, and landmark books in the history of science. Special Collections also includes manuscript collections of local authors and professors, and collections that feature a variety of media such as posters and examples of fine printing.
The University Archives is home to more than 100 years of CMU's history. Its mission to is document, preserve, and provide access to records documenting life at CMU and the contributions of its students and faculty. Examples of Archives material include academic department records, student organization records, faculty and alumni papers, and publications like the Tartan, the Thistle, and the Faculty Bulletin.
, Ethnic & Gender Studies
, General Topics
, Information Systems
, Language & Linguistics
, Public Policy
, Social & Decision Sciences
, Women's Studies