Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What to Know if We Have a Particular Newspaper?
It's simple, just go to Journals & Newspapers, type in the title of the newspaper and press return! If we have access to it via a database, the database name and dates of coverage will be listed.
Other libraries may have copies of other newspapers. You can use either search Worldcat or the Center for Research Libraries' catalog to see what might be available.
Access World News: Canada
Includes current and archived news content from more than 12,700 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories. A combination of global, regional and local news, including a unique merging of news formats (full-text articles, web-only content, PDF image editions), this resource supports a diverse range of research needs across an array of academic disciplines for students and faculty.
NB: Dates of coverage vary by publication. You can use the map search, adding/deleting filters to make your own combination of provinces.
Historical Canadian Newspapers Online: Home
ca. 1800-present. Exact dates vary by title. Links to historical Canadian newspapers that are freely available on the Internet.
Historical Newspapers: Edmonton Journal (1903-2000) This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper out of Edmonton, Alberta, Canada, with an established editorial policy of supporting the Conservative party.
Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail (1844 - 2014) This link opens in a new window
Canada’s largest circulation national newspaper and is typically cited as being “Canada’s Newspaper of Record.”
Historical Newspapers: Guardian and The Observer (1791 - 2003) This link opens in a new window
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003) give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
Historical Newspapers: Leader-Post (Regina) (1883-2010) This link opens in a new window
The only newspaper published in Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada, formed in 1928 when the owners of the Leader bought the competing Regina Daily Post and merged the two.
Historical Newspapers: Montreal Gazette (1857-2020) This link opens in a new window
Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Historical Newspapers: Ottawa Citizen (1845-2010) This link opens in a new window
English-language daily newspaper from Ottawa, Ontario, Canada, whose motto is Fair play and Day-Light.
Historical Newspapers: Province (Vancouver) (1898-2010) This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper published in Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada.
Historical Newspapers: Saskatoon Star Phoenix (1902-2009) This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper published in Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada.
Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star (1894 - 2015) This link opens in a new window
Canada’s highest circulation newspaper and it was unique among early North
American newspapers in its consistent advocacy of ordinary people. It was an advocate of social causes such as the welfare state, old age pensions, unemployment insurance, and health care. It is generally considered to be the most leftwing of Canada’s major newspapers and a major influence on the development of Canadian social policy. Its early opposition of the Nazi regime saw the paper become the first North American paper to be banned in Germany by its government.
Historical Newspapers: Windsor Star (1883-2010) This link opens in a new window
Daily newspaper in Windsor, Ontario, Canada.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. Exact dates vary by title, but most ca. late 1990s-present. To limit to Canada, either filter by Geography after the search, or before searching, select Menu, All Sources, then narrow by Category - News and Jurisdiction.
PressDisplay This link opens in a new window
Browsable access to the full-color print layout of newspapers and magazines from around the world, including current and back issues of a few months (depends on title).
PressReader This link opens in a new window
Instant, browseable access to more than 7,000 newspapers and magazines from around the world, covering more than 120 countries and 60 languages. Create an account via this link and then you can download the PressReader app and sign in with the email option.