CMU LibGuides: International market research: Business databases

Off campus? New information!

For almost all databases, enter your Andrew username and PW when asked...or when in doubt, use the VPN.

Business & Economics Databases

ABI/INFORM Complete
(in ProQuest database) articles from scholarly and trade sources, newspapers, and dissertations, on business conditions and trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and the competitive landscape worldwide.
Access for alumni!
Academic OneFile
peer-reviewed, scholarly articles on all topics, including management, finance, marketing and economics.
Accounting & Tax
articles on accounting, tax management, auditing, tax and financial law, governance, and risk management.
GlobalData Power
covers the alternate/renewable energy industries : wind, hydro, solar, ocean, geothermal, biofuels, fuel cells, nuclear, carbon trading, etc. Includes research and business news, deals, company and industry analysis, forecasts and market intelligence data for over 100 countries. No downloading available but copy/paste is possible.

Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
(1913 - 1983) covers the important events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry, plus the most important historical sources in the applied science and technology field for the early/mid 20th century.
BizMiner
detailed financial analysis reports on thousands of lines of business, from the national to zip code level, derived from voluminous data from the IRS, Census, BLS, etc. Can be used for benchmarking, business plans, assessing new business opportunities, valuation, and market analysis.
Bloomberg Terminal
One terminal located in Hunt Library. Another located in Sorrells Library (4th fl. Wean Hall) – financial information system providing analysis and quotes for equities and indices, current company, industry and market news, and economic data for the countries of the world.

Additional terminals are located in the Tepper School. Please consult Tepper Technology Services for additional info and rules for accessing.
Business Source Premier
academic and trade journals and magazines in all business disciplines; also industry reports, company profiles, and country economic reports. Special feature: online access to the Harvard Business Review.

CCH Omnitax
Laws, regulations, documents and guides to federal, state, and international taxation and estate planning.

Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP)
Monthly and daily quotations for stock prices, indices, US Government bonds, and mutual funds; current and historical. On WRDS platform. When off-campus, connect to Full VPN access. NOTE: Requires CMU email to access. After entering your CMU email address, a an email will be sent to you from WRDS with a link to access WRDS content.
Compustat
From Standard & Poor’s, an extensive database of business financial data, covering over 80,000 global firms dating back to the 1950s. On WRDS platform. When off-campus, connect to Full VPN access. NOTE: Requires CMU email to access. After entering your CMU email address, a an email will be sent to you from WRDS with a link to access WRDS content.
Conference Board
authoritative research reports on issues in business management and U.S. and global economics.

Consumer Reports
Rates consumer products and reports on consumer surveys - used mainly for purchasing.

D&B Hoovers
Covers over 188 million global, public and private firms, with company and industry overviews, SWOT, financials, analyst reports, and more - gets a lot of information quickly. NOTE: Only 600,000 downloads per yer for entire campus. Please be judicious when downloading!
EconLit
electronic form of the Journal of Economic Literature (JEL) providing citations and abstracts for economics research from journals, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and working papers.

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) reports in ProQuest database
how to find them: in the search box at the top, enter the country name, and in the box where it says "Publication title" enter: eiu.
Engineering Village
engineering, communications, computer science, IT, operations research, environmental science, and more.
Financial Times
Financial news and commentary from the City (London.)

Frost & Sullivan
Detailed market reports and analysis on technology aspects of many industries. (Many reports are read-only, but you can request a .pdf from rwerner@andrew.cmu.edu. For academic use only. Not every feature is available.) Industries covered: Aerospace & Defense, Automotive & Transportation, Chemicals & Materials, Electronics & Security, Energy & Power Systems, Environment & Building Technologies, Food & Beverage Ingredients, Healthcare, Industrial Automation & Process control, Information & Communication Technologies, Measurements & Instrumentation.
Gartner Core Research
research reports on a detailed range of technology products and services.

General OneFile
a general news database, with a very wide range of publications.

Harvard Business Review
famed management journal - contains articles and occasional case studies.

Historical Annual Reports
.pdfs of annual reports for 800 US companies, some going back to 1844. These are the reports mailed out to shareholders, and so provide not only financial data, but narrative and pictorial snapshots of companies through time.

Hoover's (Now D&B Hoovers)
directory of US and International companies, public and private, with extensive information on each company, including profiles, competitors, financials, and executives.

IBISWorld
in-depth industry market research reports with analysis, data, conditions, segmentation, market share, primary companies, and outlook for over 700 industries in the US.
IEEE Explore
technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics
INFORMS PubsOnline
access to 12 journal titles published by INFORMS, the professional association for operations research and management science.

International Financial Statistics
time series data used in economic analysis, from the IMF. You'll need to register, and then sign in each time, in order to download data.
JSTOR
peer-reviewed scholarly ,journals in all disciplines including management, finance, marketing and economics (not including last 3-5 years, however.)

Leadership Library
identifies leaders in corporations and financial institutions, government, associations, non-profits, law firms, judicial and foreign representatives, and the media.
LexisNexis Statistical, now called ProQuest Statistical Insight
index to thousands of statistical publications on all topics. Much of the data is available here also; the rest is on microfiche in Hunt Library
LexisNexis Statistical Datasets now called ProQuest Statistical Datasets
voluminous demographic, industry, and economic data with mapping and report-generating capability. Includes (in the EASI Market Planner folder) hundreds of datasets on consumer demographics and usage/spending patterns for products and services.
Marquis Who's Who
profiles of 1.4 million of accomplished individuals worldwide, from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.

MarketLine (previously Datamonitor)
profiles of companies, industries, and countries, often containing SWOT and 5 forces analysis; also provides M&A and financial deal activity, case studies, and market data on a number of consumer products.

McKinsey Quarterly
insights about leadership and management from the well-known consulting firm McKinsey & Co. (free source)

Mergent Historical Annual Reports
historical and current annual reports in .pdf format for over 5,000 companies, some going back to 1925 (use "Annual Report Search" tab) - equity and industry reports as well.

Mergent Bondviewer
a wide-range of U.S. corporate and municipal bond data such as: issue details, offering documents, ratings, coupon information, covenants, redemptions and historical pricing.
Mergent Economics
thousands of time series datasets in economics from 1982 to the present, for the US, Canada, Australia and the UK.
Mergent Online
has descriptive information and 15 years of financial data for US and foreign companies, both active and inactive. Mergers & acquisitions, SEC filings, institutional holdings, earnings estimates, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, insider trading, and thirty years of historical stock prices are provided. Also includes industry and equity research reports, pdfs of US and international company annual reports from 1997, and quarterly fact sheets for US companies.

Nexis Dossier (now includes Corporate Affiliations)
corporate hierarchies and linkages for all major public and private companies and their subsidiaries worldwide. Provides business descriptions, basic financials, detailed competitor listings, brands, and service firms. Creates lists of foreign firms operating in the US and vice versa, has historical data back to 1993, tracks mergers and acquisitions, and provides executive and board member listings.
Nexis Uni
interdisciplinary, international database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, reports, blogs, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and reference works.
OECD Publications
documents and databases on economics, energy, development, education, environment, employment, patents, R&D, finance, governance, agriculture, industry, science, social expenditures, trade, transportation, and more. Global coverage from the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development. (IEA Databases not included.)

Oxford Handbooks Online - Business & Management
specially commissioned essays by leading scholars offering thorough introductions to topics in the discipline for scholars, advanced students, and practitioners.
Oxford Handbooks Online - Economics & Finance
specially commissioned essays by leading scholars offering thorough introductions to topics in the discipline for scholars, advanced students, and practitioners.
ProQuest
searches several databases together, including ABI/INFORM (above) the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and hundreds of other US national newspapers. Also has industry reports (including First Research from Hoover's), and EIU Viewswire country reports.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
index to thousands of statistical publications on all topics. Much of the data is available here also; the rest is on microfiche in Hunt Library

PsycINFO
covers Psychology and related fields, with relevance for organizational behavior. effectiveness, climate and structure; as well as marketing, working conditions, economics, communication, motivation, etc.

Data Axle (formerly ReferenceUSA)
Various modules: For list generation and small business information: US and Canadian companies of all sizes, also new business filings, with data visualization and mapping applications. For corporate research: the OneSource module has extensive corporate information on over 5 million global firms.
Risk
top finance magazine covering risk management and the global derivatives market.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
a wide variety of public opinion surveys and other resources , ranging from the 1930s to the present.

Sage Data
Interdisciplinary datasets with mapping, graphing, and report-generating capability. Includes tons of datasets for business, industry, labor, energy, population, income, health, politics, and more.
Sage Research Methods
helps design research projects, identify methods, conduct research, and write up findings, combining research methods content with visualization, social networking, and video features.

Scopus
Giant academic database containing peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - coverage of scientific, medical, technical and social science (management and economics) topics. Citation searching is a feature.
Testing & Education Reference Center
has current study guides and practice tests for graduate school exams - MCAT, LSAT, GRE - and the TOEFL, as well as a graduate school search feature.

TRACE
FINRA's corporate bond market price dissemination service, providing transaction data for corporate bonds - investment grade, high yield and convertible debt. On WRDS platform. When off-campus, connect to Full VPN access. NOTE: Requires CMU email to access. After entering your CMU email address, a an email will be sent to you from WRDS with a link to access WRDS content.

Value Line Investment Survey
stock reports offering financial performance data, projections, rankings, analyst consensus, beta, key ratios, and commentary on 3,500 stocks; short industry surveys; and views on the economy from a famed independent investment analyst service.
Wall Street Journal
use this is for issues from 1984-present. Historical issues (1851-2006) are here, and Wall Street Journal Online articles are here.
Web of Science
encompasses the scholarly literature in all fields, including economics, business and finance, used primarily to discover linkages among research publications and researchers. Also calculates journal impact factors in Journal Citation Reports.
Who's Who
same as Marquis Who's Who - profiles of 1.4 million of the most accomplished individuals worldwide, from all fields of endeavor including: government, business, science and technology, the arts, entertainment, and sports.

World DataBank
from the World Bank, provides datasets for more than 700 development indicators, in areas such as finance, communications, the environment, education, labor, health, and economics, for 208 countries and 18 country groups, from 1960 to the present. Try the new beta version.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services)
a uniform web interface to current and historical datasets in finance, economics and banking, from multiple sources. Some of those are: Standard & Poor’s Compustat, the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP,) Mergent, Dow Jones, the Federal Reserve, and the Chicago Board of Options Exchange.

These databases come to you courtesy of
Carnegie Mellon University Libraries
Tepper Computing Center
and the
Career Opportunities Center

Ask the Business Librarian

if offline, email Ryan at rsplenda@andrew.cmu.edu

Bus/Econ Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks

New Palgrave Dictionary of Economics
the classic source

Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society
Oxford Reference Online - Economics & Business
Oxford Handbooks Online - Business & Management
Oxford Handbooks Online - Economics & Finance
Dictionary of Financial Engineering
Encyclopedia of Leadership
Business - the Ultimate Resource
Princeton Encyclopedia of the World Economy
Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Management
authoritative treatment by experts of management topics, with volumes covering: accounting, business ethics, entrepreneurship, finance, human resources, international management, management information systems, managerial economics, marketing, operations, organizational behavior, and strategic management.
International Encyclopedia of Organization Studies
Encyclopedia of World Poverty
21st Century Management - a Reference Handbook

Emerald Management Research Collection
academic research in business and management