Citation and Reference Management: Citation Management Tools

Institutional Option:  Carnegie Mellon University student, staff, and faculty have access to EndNote Basic through the institutional subscription to the Web of Knowledge.  Get Access.

Individual Options:

• EndNote Basic Only - compare with Desktop.  Create an account on endnote.com (fewer styles supported).
• Purchase Directly (see individual options or ask for group options)
• Check CMU University Store (for Educational discounts)

Institutional Option:  Carnegie Mellon University student, staff, and faculty have access to F1000Workspace.  Get Access.

NOTE:  Once you create an account, go to your account profile and set your proxy settings to this link: http://proxy.library.cmu.edu/login?url=$@

Individual Options:

• Free account  free provides unlimited access to account and references with limited project features.
• Three Project limit. 
• Unlimited online reference storage <offline access coming soon>

Institutional Option:  Carnegie Mellon University student, staff, and faculty have access to Mendeley Institutional Edition (MIE), among other added features.  Get Access.

Individual Options:

• Mendeley software is free but a personal account only provides you with access to Mendeley Basic (compare with Mendeley Basic).  You can create a personal account on Mendeley.com.
• One private group of 3 members is free (see costs for additional private groups)
• 2GB of online storage is free (see costs for upgraded storage)

Institutional Option:  Not Available. 

Individual Options:

• Zotero software is free but a personal account provides limited storage (see Technical Specifications).  You can create a personal account on Zotero.com.

Online Storage: 

• Personal: 2GB with Free or Institutional access; unlimited with plan purchase
• Shared: unlimited

Online Storage:

• Personal: unlimited reference storage.
• Shared: unlimited reference storage, but see collaboration below for project limits.

Online Storage:

• Personal: 2GB with Free account; We no longer support Mendeley Institutional but you are welcome to purchase additional plans (see plans).
• Shared: 100MB web storage with free and individually purchased plans.

Online Storage:

• Personal: 300MB with Free; no institutional plan available; varies when purchased (see pricing).
• Shared: depends on group membership.

Operating System: Mac; Windows

Operating System: Mac; Windows; Linux.

Operating System: Mac; Windows; Linux.

Operating System: Mac; Windows; Linux.

Add-ons: Mobile; Word Plug-in supported

Add-ons: Android & Apple apps; Word Plug-in, and Google Docs supported.

Add-ons: Mobile; Word Plug-in supported.

Add-ons: Mobile from a third party; Plugins

Citation Styles:

• EndNote Basic 21 (more with institutional access; Purchase plan supports thousands of styles
• can edit/create own styles

Citation Styles:  Supports thousands of citation styles and more can be added.  Styles cannot be edited via CSL.

Citation Styles: Supports thousands of citation styles and styles can be edited.

Citation Styles: Supports thousands of citation styles and styles can be edited.

Collaboration:

• Private Group/members: 14/unlimited.
• Public Groups/members: unlimited.
• Social Networking: n/a.
• Newsfeed: n/a.

Collaboration:

• 3 Project limit with free version.  Unlimited for CMU affiliates.
• Projects are shared with account holders only (private).
• Social Networking: available,
• Newsfeed: available,

Collaboration:

• Up to 5 groups and 25 collaborators for free accounts.

Collaboration:

• Private Group/members: unlimited/unlimited.
• Public Groups/members: unlimited/unlimited.
• Social Networking: available.
• Newsfeed: available.

Syncing: N/A (will be available when desktop version is released)

Syncing: Available

Syncing: Available

Discovery:

• Free & searchable article collection: n/a
• Paper recommendations: n/a
• Readership and Metrics: n/a
• Open API: n/a
• Search personal library: yes
• Search external databases: yes

Discovery:

• Free & searchable article collection: n/a
• Paper recommendations: yes
• Readership and Metrics: yes
• Open API: yes
• Search personal library: yes
• Search external databases: n/a

Discovery:

• Free & searchable article collection: n/a
• Paper recommendations: yes
• Readership and Metrics: n/a
• Open API: n/a
• Search personal library: yes
• Search external databases: n/a

Discovery:

• Free & searchable article collection: n/a
• Paper recommendations: n/a
• Readership and Metrics: n/a
• Open API: yes
• Search personal library: yes
• Search external databases: n/a

Document Management:

• Annotation: supported
• Plugins: Word supported
• Syncing: supported if desktop software purchased

Document Management:

• Annotation: supported
• Plugins: Word only 
• Syncing: supported

Document Management:

• Annotation: supported
• Plugins: Word and Google Docs supported
• Syncing: supported

Document Management:

• Annotation: supported
• Plugins: Word supported
• Syncing: supported

Record Management:

Export/Import: Tab Delimited; BibTeX; EndNote (XML); RIS

Record Management:

Export/Import: BibTeX; EndNote (XML); RIS

Record Management:

Export/Import: Tab Delimited; BibTeX; XML(EndNote); RIS; Refer/BiblX;MODS, and more.

Record Management:

Export/Import: Tab Delimited; BibTeX; XML(EndNote); RIS; Refer/BiblX;MODS, and more.