Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding newspaper articles
The following are select databases that are known for their newspaper coverage as well as those with historical coverage. For additional information on finding newspapers, see the Newspapers subject guide.
Millions of news, magazine, and periodical articles across a wide range of general interest topics and academic disciplines.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
ProQuest Canadian Newsstream
Covers 1970-present, though exact dates vary by title. Full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers.
ProQuest International Newsstream
ca. 2000-present. Exact dates vary by title. News content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades. Includes 660 of the world's top newspapers, including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
ProQuest US Newsstream
1980-present. Premium US News content including such leading papers as The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. Also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers, and is cross-searchable on the ProQuest platform.
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender (1910 - 1975)
One of the leading and most influential newspapers of the African American community, with about two thirds of its readership outside the Windy City. With an estimated readership of about 500,000, the newspaper was a major voice in African American history. Read more about the Chicago Defender
Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune (1849 - current minus 24 years)
Major U. S. newspaper, known for investigative and public service journalism.
Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times (1881 - current minus 24 years)
Coverage of the development of the Southern California and American West as well as national news. For recent issues, Dec. 4, 1996-present, go here
. For fully searchable full page images, 2008 - present (with a 3-month embargo), go here
. For additional editions, blogs, etc., search lost angeles times
Historical Newspapers: New York Times (1851 - ca. current minus 3 years)
Historical access to major U.S. newspaper, often considered the "newspaper of record." For current issues, 1980-present, use this
. Fully searchable digital images of issues from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are available here
Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002
"Once the country's most widely circulated black newspaper with a national circulation of almost 200,000." Read more about the Pittsburgh Courier
. Note: Issues from 1913-1922 are not available.
Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal (1890 - current minus 17 years)
Historical full text of U. S. business newspaper. For current issues, 1984-present, go here
. Fully searchable full page images from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo). are here
The following resource is a great place to find links for newspapers and media sources from all over the world:
> Search by region, or country
> Find English and non-English papers
Disclaimer: Due to the occasional information block by the Chinese government, some of these links might be temporarily unavailable.
Also see the Select Internet Resources tab for additional sources.