CMU LibGuides: History of Technology and Science: Journal and Magazine Articles

Journal and Magazine Articles

ACM Digital Library
Full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, and reviews published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
Indexes articles from 1913 - 1983 covering events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry, applied science and technology.
Applied Science & Technology Full Text
Indexing and abstracts for nearly 800 core English-language, scientific and technical publications back to 1983. Full text of articles is available from more than 220 periodicals dating back to 1997. Content includes coverage of a wide variety of applied science specialties—acoustics to aeronautics, neural networks to nuclear and civil engineering, computers and informatics and much more.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Allows searching by historical time period of subject of articles. Selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present
Compendex
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. To limit to Compendex, check the appropriate box at the top.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine
ca. 1750-present. Integrates 4 integrating four bibliographies— the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated on a monthly basis, the database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
IsisCB Explore
Research tool for the history of science, whose core dataset comes from bibliographical citations in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science. The IsisCB currently contains 40 years of citation data from 1974 to 2014.
JSTOR
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers, as well as some images.
MathSciNet
Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications from 1940-present in an online database with links to full text (when available).
Project MUSE
Current humanities and social science journals from a variety of university presses.
SAE MOBILUS
Provides detailed summaries and bibliographic data for SAE technical papers since 1906, magazine articles, books, all ground vehicle and aerospace standards, specifications, and research reports.
TRID: the TRIS and ITRD database
An integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.

ZbMath
"The first resource for mathematics"