Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Art Basic Reference: Dictionaries


Atkins, Robert. ArtSpeak: a Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the present. New York: Abbeville, 1997.
FA-REF-4 N6490 .A87 1997

Atkins, Robert. ArtSpoke: a Guide to Modern Ideas, Movements and Buzzwords, 1848-1944. New York: Abbeville, 1993.
FA-REF-4 N6447 .A85 1993

Nelson, Robert S. and Richard Schiff. Critical Terms for Art History. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 2003.
FA-REF-4 N34 .C75 2003

Cotton, Bob. Cyberspace Lexicon: an Illustrated Dictionary of Terms from Multimedia to Virtual Reality. London: Phaidon, 1994.
FA-REF-4 QA76.15 .C675 1994

Biederman, Hans. Dictionary of Symbolism. New York: Facts on File, 1992.
FA-REF-4 AZ108 .B5313 1992

Kostelanetz, Richard. Dictionary of the Avant Gardes. Chicago: Chicago Review Press, 2000.
FA-REF-4 NX456 .K67 2000
Expanded from the 1993 edition. Describes path-forging ideas, people, places and movements of the 20th century in the visual and performing arts. Each entry includes a bibliography or other works in various media. Some entries include web sites.

Moore, Frank Ledlie. Dictionary of the Performing Arts. Chicago: Contemporary Books, 1999.
FA-REF-4 PN1579 .M66 1999

Walker, John A. Glossary of Art, Architecture and Design since 1945. Boston: G.K. Hall, 1992.
FA-REF-4 N34 .W34 1992

Browne, Steven E. Film-Video Terms and Concepts. Boston: Focal Press, 1992.
FA-REF-4 TR847 .B76 1992

Hall, James. Illustrated Dictionary of Symbols in Eastern and Western Art.. New York: Icon Editions, 1994.
FA-REF-4 N7740 .H53 1994

McAlister, Michael. Language of Visual Effects. (Cinematography). Los Angeles: Lone Eagle Co., 1993.
FA-REF-4 TR858 .M325 1992

Corbeil, Jean-Claude, et.al. Macmillan Visual Dictionary. New York: MacMillan Maxwell and Macmillan Intl., 1992.
FA-REF-4 PE1629 .C64 1992

Mora, Gilles. Photospeak: a Guide to Ideas, Movements and Techniques of Photography, 1839 to the Present. New York: Abbeville, 1998.
FA-REF-4 TR15 .M63 1998

Werness, Hope B. The Continuum Encyclopedia of Native Art: Worldview, Symbolism, and Culture in Arica, Oceania, and Native North America. New York; London: Continuum International Publishing Group, 2000.
FA-REF-4 E98 .A7 W49 2000