Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals and Magazine Articles
For a comprehensive listing of environmental databases, see:
Journal and Magazine Articles
National Agricultural Library. Citations to books and journals. "Production of these records in electronic form began in 1970, but the database covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century."
America: History & Life with Full Text
1955-present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Also has a non-US history counterpart, Historical Abstracts. You can also search America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
Applied Science & Business Periodicals Retrospective: 1913-1983
Indexes articles from 1913 - 1983 covering events, issues and trends in the history of business and industry, applied science and technology.
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. To limit to Compendex, check the appropriate box at the top.
CQ Press Library
Search or browse resources on the American government, current affairs, history, politics, public policy, and data analysis for the social sciences. Database Guide
Databases: Forest History Society
Search various publications of the Forest History Society:
Forest History Society Image Database
Environmental History Bibliography Database
Guide to Environmental History Archives Collections Database
U. S. Forest Service History Collection Database
Forests in Fiction Collection Catalog
Environment of South and Southeast Asia Bibliographic Database
Early Encounters in North America
Narratives, diaries, journals, and letters of traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Access to the hundreds of environmental impact statements issued each year by the federal government. Entries include a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences and legal mandates.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection
This multidisciplinary database, provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications. Includes these subfiles:
ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality, 1990-present.
Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B), 1982-present
Ecology Abstracts, 1982-present.
Environmental Engineering Abstracts, 1990-present.
Health & Safety Sciences Abstracts, 1981-present.
Human Population & Natural Resource Management, 1995-present.
Industrial & Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A), 1982-present.
Pollution Abstracts, 1981-present.
Risk Abstracts, 1990-present.
Sustainability Science Abstracts, 2003-present.
Toxicology Abstracts, 1981-present.
Water Resources Abstracts, 1967-present.
Access to scholarly, government and general-interest sources that address the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and governments. Covers the connections between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Harper’s Weekly, America's leading 19th century illustrated newspaper, 1857-1912.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
1955-present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Also has a U.S. and Canadian history counterpart, America: History and Life. You can also search America: History and Life and Historical Abstracts
NTIS - now the National Technical Reports Library (NTRL)
Describes government technical reports from the U.S. and other countries. Good for locating reports that one should be able to obtain for free from NASA, DOD, DOE, EPA and other agencies. NTRL has the full text of more than 800,000 technical reports.
Provides citations and abstracts to articles in air pollution, marine pollution, and waste management.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Search citations to the popular magazines of the day. Many have links to full text.
Provides citations and abstracts to articles on toxicology, chemicals, pharmaceuticals, and antidotes.
TRID: the TRIS and ITRD database
Citations and some abstracts or full text to research articles, reports, books, etc. relating to the planning, development, operation, and performance of transportation systems and their components. Includes all modes of transportation and all disciplines, including environmental issues.