¡empieza aqui! - Modern Languages: 82345 - Introduction to Hispanic & Cultural Studies

Comience aquí

Encyclopedia of Latino Popular Culture by Cordelia C. Candelaria (Editor); Peter J. Garcia (Editor); Arturo J. Aldama (Editor)
Call Number: E184 .S75 E59 2004 (Hunt Library, 2nd floor)
ISBN: 0313322155
Publication Date: 2004-10-30
U.S. culture has been profoundly impacted by contributions from Mexico and the rest of Central America, South America, and the Spanish Caribbean. These contributions and their adaptations in the United States are showcased in nearly 500 essay entries on noted people, festivities, items, terms, movements, sports, food, events, places, visual and performing arts, film, institutions, fashion, literature, organizations, the media, and much more. The wide range of entries with many areas of unique coverage will meet the high demand for multidisciplinary use. Students and other readers will appreciate the inclusiveness of cultural groups, the gender sensitivity, and the heavy contextual grounding of the topics. The Latino population is the fastest-growing segment of our society, and this encyclopedia is the first to focus on the breadth of their cultural expression. The up-to-date entries and authoritative information provided by a host of subject experts will make this the source to turn to for quick reference and research. Numerous photos complement the text.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Spanish Culture by Eamonn Rodgers (Editor)
Call Number: https://search.library.cmu.edu/vufind/Record/762430
ISBN: 0203014383
Publication Date: 2001-09-06
Some 750 alphabetically-arranged entries provide insights into recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975. Entries range from shorter, factual articles to longer overview essays offering in-depth treatment of major issues. Culture is defined in its broadest sense. Entries include: *Antonio Gaud * science * Antonio Banderas * golf * dance * education * politics * racism * urbanization This Encyclopedia is essential reading for anyone interested in Spanish culture. It provides essential cultural context for students of Spanish, European History, Comparative European Studies and Cultural Studies."
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Jay Kinsbruner (Editor); Erick Detlef Langer
ISBN: 9780684315904
Publication Date: 2008-06-01

Referencias electrónicas:

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and dictionaries on a wide variety of subjects.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, maps, and websites in the humanities and social sciences that relate to Latin America.

Puesto que ustedes tienen un tema y algunas palabras de búsqueda, necesita localizar libros. Utilice las palabras de búsqueda e buscar uno de los catálogos de las bibliotecas siguientes:

Carnegie Mellon University (CAMEO) - para localizar los libros que poseemos.

The University of Pittsburgh (PITTCat) - con la tarjeta de CMU, pueden obtener una trajeta especial que le permite tomar prestados libros de su colección.

Other local and National library catalogs - pueden encontrar más libros aquí y utilice "interlibrary loan" - nuestro servicio de préstamo interbibliotecario (ver más abajo) - para localizarlos.

Todavía no puede encontrar lo que busca?

Si se preparan, pueden pedir prestado libros que necesita de E-Z Borrow o ILLiad:

- E-Z Borrow/PALCI - Buscar bibliotecas en PA para libros (no se pueden encontrar los artículos aquí)

- ILLiad - registrarse en este servicio interbibliotecario para pedir prestado artículos o libros desde casi cualquier lugar.

Para encontrar más......

Cuando encuentre un libro en CAMEO, haga clic en el título para ver la ficha completa. El expediente completo proporciona pistas para otros temas o libros similares (véase el ejemplo a continuación - haga clic en la imagen para ampliar):

Libros recomendados:

La Cocina en su Tinta by Biblioteca Nacional
Call Number: TX723.5 .S7 C593 2010 (Hunt, 3rd floor) - DVD in Music Office (4th Floor)
ISBN: 8492462159
Publication Date: 2010
Food by Jean-Louis Flandrin (Editor); Massimo Montanari (Editor); Albert Sonnenfeld (Translator)
Call Number: TX353 .H525 1999 (Hunt, 3rd floor)
ISBN: 0231111541
Publication Date: 1999-11-23
When did we first serve meals at regular hours? Why did we begin using individual plates and utensils to eat? When did "cuisine" become a concept and how did we come to judge food by its method of preparation, manner of consumption, and gastronomic merit? Food: A Culinary History explores culinary evolution and eating habits from prehistoric times to the present, offering surprising insights into our social and agricultural practices, religious beliefs, and most unreflected habits. The volume dispels myths such as the tale that Marco Polo brought pasta to Europe from China, that the original recipe for chocolate contained chili instead of sugar, and more. As it builds its history, the text also reveals the dietary rules of the ancient Hebrews, the contributions of Arabic cookery to European cuisine, the table etiquette of the Middle Ages, and the evolution of beverage styles in early America. It concludes with a discussion on the McDonaldization of food and growing popularity of foreign foods today.
The Medieval Baker's Daughter by Madeleine Pelner Cosman
Call Number: GT120 .C67 1984 (Hunt Library, 2nd Floor)
ISBN: 0916491188
Publication Date: 1984-12-01
Intelligent young people desiring to know what life was like in medieval England will love this story of Johanna Baxter of Bread Street in the year 1412. This book also recreates medieval clothes, food, talk, song & theater by instructions for creating authentic banners, costumes, recipes, & music, as well as by the script for the amusing newly translated medieval play called Noah's Flood. A useful glossary briefly explains unfamiliar words of Johanna's world. On facing pages, this bilingual book has the Spanish & English texts. The Medieval Baker's Daughter or La Hija de la Panadera Medieval is a successful experiment in cultural unity; students reading & creating together a beautiful medieval feast or festival appreciate one another's talents, interests & languages. Dr. Cosman, an expert in medical law, directs the Medieval & Renaissance Institute at City College, City University of New York. A vivid public lecturer & TV personality, she is the author of many successful books such as Fabulous Feasts: Medieval Cookery & Ceremony (Braziller) & Medieval Holidays & Festivals: A Calendar of Celebrations (Scribner's), she makes glories of the Middle Ages accessible to readers of all ages.
Historia verdadera de la conquista de lan Nueva España by Díaz del Castillo, Bernal
Call Number: F1230 .D5372 1984 (Hunt Library, 2nd floor)
ISBN: 9788485229567
Publication Date: 1984
El Sabor en la ruta de Colón by Clavé, , Montse
Call Number: TX716 .A1 C52 2002 (Hunt, 3rd floor)
ISBN: 8493245712
Publication Date: 2002

Ahora tiene que seleccionar un recurso para buscar. Nuestra selección de bases de datos es grande, así que esto puede ser desalentador.

En primer, empezar con las bases de datos que figuran en esta página.

CONSEJOS:

Algunos cuadros de búsqueda siguientes le permiten limitar a "erudito" y / o "texto completo" de opciones.

Escriba una frase o de dos palabras unidas con "AND". Los resultados se abrirá en una ventana separada. Allí, asegúrese de buscar "Búsqueda Avanzada" para refinar su búsqueda.

Asegúrese de revisar la investigación de Lenguas Modernas -(Modern Languages) - caja guía titulada "Tips for finding non-English sources" para bases de datos especializadas.

¿Están fuera del campus o el uso de tecnología inalámbrica? Si están fuera de la escuela o de forma inalámbrica, debe autenticarse a través de VPN - ver Off-Campus/Wireless para obtener más instrucciones.

Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Articles in academic journals from all disciplines. Database Guide.
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, maps, and websites in the humanities and social sciences that relate to Latin America.
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 This link opens in a new window
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of titles, including many published bilingually in Spanish and English.
Informe Académico This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Spanish- and Portuguese-language scholarly journals and magazines. The database offers a wide range of content both from and about Latin America.
Latin America & Iberia Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text academic journal that are locally published by scholarly publishing organizations and educational institutions in many Latin American countries, Spain, and Portugal. Includes non-English language publications. Major subject areas of study are represented, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities. Database Guide
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works, covering all genres and disciplines, all time periods, and all regions of the world.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Citations to critical research of language, literature, and folklore for all periods beginning with the Middle Ages.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Current humanities and social science journals from a variety of university presses.

Biblioteca Digital Cátedra - La Cátedra provee acceso en línea a una serie de libros que son difíciles de localizar en la impresión.

Biblioteca Virtual: Miguel de Cervantes - Un maravilloso repositorio de acceso abierto de los textos históricos españoles y la literatura de escritores españoles e hispanoamericanos. Contiene biografías, cronologías, obras completas, traducciones, grabaciones, entrevistas, filmografías, diccionario, imágenes y mucho más. Lanzado oficialmente en 1999, el número de trabajos disponibles ha llegado a más de 22.000. Contiene todas las obras de Cervantes, incluyendo varias versiones históricas. Los enlaces a muchos otros portales a los sitios literarios españoles y latinoamericanos. Una iniciativa de la Universidad de Alicante, Banco Santander Central Hispano, con la colaboración de la Fundación Marcelino Botín.

HatiTrust - Ofrece libre acceso a más de 10 millones de fuentes digitalizadas multidisciplinares y multilingües.

Hemeroteca Digital (Biblioteca Nacional de España) - Una colección grande y creciente de españoles periódicos históricos y revistas digitalizados por la Biblioteca Nacional de España. La cobertura es del 17 al siglo 20 y sobre todo de España, pero incluye algunos contenidos de la Argentina, URUGUARY, México y Cuba. Ver los títulos listados.

European History: Spain and Portugal
Dictionaries, encyclopedias, databases for journal and magazine articles, maps, newspapers, primary sources, etc.
Latin America and Caribbean History
Latin American and Iberian Studies
by Martha E. Mantilla, University of Pittsburgh Latin American and Iberian Studies Librarian.
Modern Languages

Modern Languages: 82345 - Introduction to Hispanic & Cultural Studies: ¡empieza aqui!

Comience aquí

Esta guia fue util? por favor comentar sobre la guía o cualquiera de sus contenidos.