Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Call Numbers to Browse
GR931-GR935 - Signs and symbols
HD-HF - Business
NC - Drawing. Design. Illustration
NK - Decorative Arts
P87-P96 - Communication. Mass media
QA75.5-QA76.765 - Computer science
T - Technology
Z116-Z265.5 - Printing
Library of Congress Classification Outline
Important Databases for Communication Design
Art and Architecture Archive
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
Art & Architecture Source
Full text journal articles with international coverage, books, image collection and more with a focus on the visual arts and architecture.
Art History Research net (AHR net)
A journals-based resource for researching the history of 19th and 20th century art and design. Consists of four related and linkable databases including: ReVIEW, Arts + Architecture ProFILES, Design Abstracts Retrospective, and Research Sources 1: The Poster.
Comprehensive resource for communication research and offers abstracts and indexing as well as full-text content from publications worldwide.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI)
DAAI covers designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century.
Subject and Interdisciplinary Databases
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and related fields.
Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.
Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
American Psychological Association's resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health.
AP Images Collection
The Associated Press (AP) Images Collection™ captures the greatest events in history and brings them to life through photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text.
Over two million high-quality images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences.
Over two million digital images of art, history, and culture from global museums, galleries, private collections and contemporary artists all copyright cleared for educational use.
Unique @ CMU
Swiss Poster Collection
Graphic design excellence collected between 1970 and 2010 by designer and typographer Ruedi Ruegg; donated to CMU.
SOCMUS is a virtual museum that presents different sections of the Bulgarian graphic design from the socialist era, 1944-1989.
Typographische Monatsblätter Research Archive
Speaking of Swiss design... a digital archive of the publication Typographische Monatsblätter (TM) that includes issues from 1960-1990.