CMU LibGuides: Design: Research Support at CMU Libraries

Research Support at CMU Libraries

Google Scholar

Configure Google Scholar so you can access CMU licensed materials.

Citation Management Tools

Zotero
Free and open source tool that supports over 9,000 citation styles. Sync across devices. Integrate with any text editor. Collaborate with teams. As a CMU affiliate, you can create an account using your CMU andrew.cmu.edu email address, which will give you unlimited cloud storage through the Libraries' institutional subscription. Learn more.

SciWheel
SciWheel, an online reference manager, offers basic and premium plans. The free version allows unlimited references and access across devices, but storage is limited. Learn more.

Important Databases for Design

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full text of journal articles, conference proceedings, and reviews published by the Association for Computing Machinery.
Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
A full-text archive of magazines comprising key research material in the fields of art and architecture, dating from the late-nineteenth century to the twenty-first. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Full text journal articles with international coverage, books, image collection and more with a focus on the visual arts and architecture.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 1,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture and related fields.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI) This link opens in a new window
DAAI covers designers and the development of design and the applied arts since the mid-19th century.

More options are available at Databases A-Z by Subject: Design

Subject and Interdisciplinary Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts for journal articles, exhibition catalogs, exhibition reviews, books, dissertations and essays; covers 1974 to present.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.
Education Database This link opens in a new window
Coverage spans the literature on primary, secondary and higher education as well as special education, home schooling and adult education.
Harvard Business Review This link opens in a new window
Famed management journal - read it here.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Academic database covering peer-reviewed journals, book series, and conference proceedings - includes scientific, medical, technical and social science topics.
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Essential journals, books, and reference works in many fields, primarily science, technology, mathematics, social science, psychology and business. Formerly SpringerLink, now Springer Nature Link
Statista This link opens in a new window
Market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers, fully downloadable, various formats, international, easy-to-use.

Design Journals

Journal Search

Print copies of current design journals are shelved on the 4th floor of Hunt Library (FA-JOUR-4). Some current titles and past issues of design journals are shelved on the 3rd floor.

Selected Titles

Open Access Journals

Sage Research Methods

Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Helps design research projects, identify methods, conduct research, and write up findings. Basic source for research methods in all fields.