Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: 85-150: Cognitive Science at CMU and Beyond: Finding Research Articles

A guide on how to find and access articles in Web of Science database

Types of Scholarly Information

You will encounter many types of articles and it is important to distinguish between these different categories of scholarly literature.  Keep in mind the following definitions.

PRIMARY RESEARCH ARTICLE:  A primary research article describes an empirical study that aims to gain new knowledge on a topic through direct or indirect observation and research.  These include quantitative or qualitative data and analysis. In science, a primary article will often include the following sections:  Abstract, Introduction, Methods, Results, and Discussion.

REVIEW ARTICLEIn the scientific literature, this is a type of article that provides a synthesis of existing research on a particular topic.  These are useful when you want to get an idea of a body of research that you are not yet familiar with.

PEER-REVIEWEDRefers to articles that have undergone a rigorous review process by peers in their discipline, often including revisions to the original manuscript, before publication in a scholarly journal. Primary research articles in reputable psychology journals are always peer-reviewed. Reviews are often peer-reviewed as well. 

How to Find Research Articles

RESEARCH DATABASES

Research databases are key to conducting comprehensive or specific searches of the scholarly literature across many different publishers and journals. They include special tools and filters to help you narrow and expand your search. Many databases, such as Web of Science, have more advanced search tools than Google Scholar and will allow one to more efficiently find the literature that they are looking for. 

  • Web of Science:  Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article

 

Go to the library homepage and click on Research Databases. This will take you to a list of databases that you can access as a CMU affiliate.

Finding Full-Text Articles

Most research articles are not publicly available and require an institutional subscription to access them. If you have citations for specific articles, search for the article in the Library Catalog to see if have access to it. The Catalog will show whether or not we have access to the electronic version and/or the print version. If the CMU library collection doesn't have what you're looking for, you can request an article scan via Interlibrary Loan.

Request materials through Interlibrary Loan by following the instructions for ILLiad.

You can also search for specific articles by putting the article title in the Title field of the Web of Science database or in Google Scholar.

Hint: Install the LibKey Nomad browser extension to have easier access to the full-text.

If you need help accessing articles, please contact the science librarian team at sciref@andrew.cmu.edu.

Search Tips for Finding Relevant Articles

  • START WITH A REVIEW ARTICLE. Review articles are excellent resources for finding a lot of primary research articles on a given topic. For example, if I'm interested in the development of visual cortical neurons, I could start my search by reading a recent review article on that topic and then look at the references section of the paper to find primary research articles.
  • FIND ONE OR A FEW RELEVANT PRIMARY RESEARCH ARTICLES. Having even a single relevant article of interest can be very useful in performing a literature search. You can look at the References section of that paper to find older related articles or the Cited References link in the Citation Network tab in Web of Science. But how do you find more recent articles that have used and cited the article of interest in their work? You can find all of the more recent articles that have cited your article of interest by clicking on the Times Cited in the Citation Network tab in Web of Science. This is a great way to understand how your article of interest has built on prior research and how it has influenced more recent research. 

 

Therefore, by finding a single relevant paper, we can easily find many more relevant articles by looking at the Cited References and Times Cited links. Together, all of these articles will help us understand how this article has contributed to the collective body of knowledge on this topic.