Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Education and Psychology databases may not be the only sources available for information on your topic. Consider subject specific databases, too. For example-history databases for issues in teaching history, etc. See Getting to the Databases (below) to see how to get to the research databases and limit them to a particular subject.
Databases For Education Research
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (Department of Education)
Department of Education interface. ca. 1964-present. Journal and non-journal material (books, reports, grey literature, works produced by various organizations and government agencies) on all aspects of education. If full text is not provided, check the e-journals list and our catalog. If we don't have the material, consider interlibrary loan. Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh has a collection of ERIC documents (non-journal material) on microfiche.
ERIC: Education Resources Information Center (ProQuest)
Proqeust Inferface. ca. 1964-present. Journal and non-journal material (books, reports, grey literature, works produced by various organizations and government agencies) on all aspects of education. If full text is not provided, click on the Get It link for retrieval options. Hillman Library, University of Pittsburgh has a collection of ERIC documents (non-journal material) on microfiche.
Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the literature of the sciences, social sciences and the arts & humanities providing indexes and links to cited references for each article.
1894-present.The full text of nearly 80 journals from the American Psychological Association as well as its imprint, the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor and errata from each journal.
1887-present. American Psychological Association's renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, it is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. Database Guide
. Also see definitions of methodologies
Temporary Psychology Librarian
Sue Collins is the Temporary Psychology Librarian
109G Hunt Library
4909 Frew St.
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh PA 15232