Head of Technical Services / Accounts Manager
Head of Cataloging / Senior Librarian
Technical Services Specialist
Ruth Ann Schmidt
Library Associate for Ordering
Mailroom Supervisor/Library Materials Processing Coordinator
The Technical Service Department is composed of Acquisitions, Cataloging, Processing, Serials, and Mailroom Services. We procure all library materials including print, electronic, and audio-visual, assure that they are cataloged, processed and available to faculty and patrons quickly. We manage all mail and deliveries for the Hunt building, renew all print and electronic subscriptions, handle licensing and contracts for materials and establish and maintain access to all material in the Library catalog. We are responsible for budgeting and managing the Library materials budget, creating financial, usage statistics and various material related reports. Our logistical specialties ensure a smooth operation of all requirements for our large student body and busy faculty.
Carnegie Mellon University Libraries Technical Services Mission Statement
To provide exceptional support services for all collection development activities and strong working relations with liaisons, colleagues, administration, vendors, and business partners. Library Technology and Technical Services is comprised of acquisitions, cataloging, and gift processing.
To fulfill our mission, Library Technology and Technical Services strives to:
Communicate information in timely manner
Maintain accurate records of the acquired materials
Effectively manage the materials budget
Continue review of acquisition procedures and policies to ensure effective and efficient services
Develop strong working relationships with selectors, publishers, consortia, and leadership
Develop strong cross-divisional working relationships with colleagues in other divisions in the Libraries
Provide data and prepare and manage reports
Seek out new technologies in support of the work of the Libraries
General areas of operations managed by Technology and Technical Services:
Resources budget for University Libraries
Review and develop material acquisition policies and procedures
Manage approval plans, continuations, and subscriptions
Purchase and receipt of Libraries materials
Digital resources trials, license, lease, access, and site administration
Manage and process gift material
Maintain current knowledge of national and international cataloging standards
Review and develop cataloging policies and procedures
Catalog newly acquired material efficiently and accurately
Physically process the material quickly and accurately
Maintain accurate holdings in OCLC for international access to the University Libraries material through interlibrary loan
Collection management and withdrawal
Kim Dolan 8-2441- Head of Technical Services / Accounts Manager
Questions about billing, invoices, electronic resources and journals as they relate to payment & renewals, allocation, questions on funds, purchasing new resources, transferring funds, usage stats, licenses and contracts, vendor related questions/issues and general inquiries.
Kristin Heath 8-7267 – Head of Cataloging / Senior Librarian
Answers questions about library catalog records for print materials and can fix errors in print records, does copy and original cataloging for music scores, supervises the Library Specialist for Cataloging and Periodical Specialist, reviews original cataloging records created by the Library Specialist for Cataloging, monitors cataloging listservs to keep up with cataloging trends, investigates ways to use Alma more efficiently for large scale projects.
Terrence Chiusano 8-7309 - Technical Services Specialist
Questions relating to standing orders and the approval plan, both e- and print, as well as questions about the review shelves in the Mailroom. Can also help with questions related to print serials. Questions related to gifts. Questions related to discards/withdrawals.
Jan Hardy 8-7320 – Library Specialist for Cataloging
Catalogs monographs and other materials for the humanities and for the Fine Arts Library, Special Collections -- the Artists’ Book Collection and Fine and Rare Book Room. Catalogs CDs for the Music Listening Collection, and DVDs for the Video Collection. Does some original cataloging. Adds table of contents notes to records in the OCLC database as part of the Enhance Project.
Gloria Henning 8-2450 – Periodical Specialist
Staffs a public service office on HL3. Responds to inquiries regarding floor collections (periodicals, microforms, newspapers, and monographs). Performs collection maintenance duties (shifting, shelving, purging materials) and coordinates floor projects (title review, space verification, and weeding). Monitors noise level on HL3 and actively enforces floor’s Quiet Study Policy.
Dom Jebbia 8-7124– Serials Associate
Questions about serial subscriptions, claims, damaged journal issues, micro- subscriptions.
Melanie Klaput - Library Associate for Ordering/Dissertation Associate
Art, Architecture, Design, History, Music, Film, Interactive Design, Arts & Technology, Drama, Digital Humanities, Special Collections. Questions about book requests, firm orders, the status of firm orders & firm order receipt in her subject areas. Acquires and catalogs dissertation/theses and coordinates procedures related to them. Orders streaming titles and updates LTTS Libguides page
Maranda Reilly – Electronic Resources Manager
Questions about serials and their links for electronic access. Comprehensive questions covering serials problems with multiple aspects, or that defy categorization. Questions related to eResources, usage statistics, EZproxy/ authentication, and discovery (Primo VE).
Ruth Ann Schmidt 8-7308 - Library Associate for Ordering
Science, Engineering, Business, Heinz School, Public policy (Heinz / Engineering & Public Policy funds), Social & Decision Science, Statistics, Reference (Sorrells, Hunt, & Mellon)' English, Writing, Modern Languages, Philosophy, Psychology, Brain Hub, Cyber Security, Environment Across the Curriculum. Questions about book requests, firm orders, the status of firm orders & firm order receipt, in her subject areas. Questions about replacement orders, status of replacement orders & the receipt of replacement orders for Hunt, E&S, MI.
Jon Singletary 8-3878 – Library Systems Specialist
Makes configuration changes in Alma. Troubleshoots access to electronic resources. Reports issues with Alma to Ex Libris.
Leah Zande-Journal Check-in/Mailroom Manager/Library Materials Processing Coordinator
Questions relating to journal and newspaper check-ins and claims. Questions about book and serials bindery. U.S. and Campus mail, in- and outgoing UPS, FedEx, DHL, and Airborne Express packages, office and library supplies ordering for Cataloging and Acquisitions. Also handles books returning from Offsite to campus and physical processing of all materials.