Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

CMU-Rwanda: Writing & Citing

An introductory guide for students and faculty on our Rwanda campus.

Carnegie Mellon Library Books on Technical Writing

The MIT guide to science and engineering communication (1997)

E&S Q223 .P33 1997

How to write a successful science thesis : the concise guide for students (2006)
E&S LB2369 .R87 2006

How to write & publish engineering papers and reports, 3rd ed. (1990)
E&S T11 .M418 1990

 

Online Citing Help

BibMe - Fully automatic bibliography maker that auto-fills. Download your bibliography in either the MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian formats. Registration is free.

Landmarks Citation Machine - Creates citations in APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian formats. 

KniteCite Maintained by Calvin College Library. Creates citations in APA, MLA, and Chicago formats.

Citation Builder Maintained by NC State University Library. Creates citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, and CBE/CSE formats.

Why Citing?

Reference Management Software

There are many tools available to help you keep track of information when you do research and help you to properly format citations in a variety of styles.Some are free, some are commercial.

 

EndNote is a software program to manage bibliographic citations, for both Windows and Macintosh. Features allow you to transfer references from databases into EndNote and then create bibliographies in a variety of formats.

For help with the search features of EndNote, contact Ethan Pullman, ethanp@cmu.edu. He can explain how to use EndNote connection files and filters to search and capture catalog and database records.

Note: Having problems connecting to the library catalog with EndNote?

For more complex troubleshooting, contact the EndNote technical support help desk at http://www.endnote.com/support/entechform.asp.

 

Mendeley Desktop organizes your research paper collection and citations. It automatically extracts references from documents and generates bibliographies. Mendeley Web lets you access your research paper library from anywhere, share documents in closed groups, and collaborate on research projects online. Integrates with word processing software. It is a free software.
Download

 


Functions as a plug-in for Firefox. Easily save citations from library databases or the web by clicking on an icon in the address bar of your browser. Cite while you write capability with Microsoft Word (additional download).
Download


    Recommended Websites