Art: 60-105/106/206 Critical Theory in Art: Surveys, dictionaries and encyclopedias

Hatt, Michael  and Charlotte Klonk. Art history: a critical introduction to its methods. New  York: Manchester University Press, 2006.
On reserve at the Hunt Circulation Desk, Fall 2018

Patin, Thomas, and Jennifer McLerran. Artwords: A Glossary of Contemporary Art Theory. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997.
This is very good introduction to art theory terminology and has an excellent table of contents by main theory topics you can use to search databases on more specific topics

Atkins, Robert. Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present. 3rd edition. New York: Abbeville Press Publishers, 2013.
HUNT FA-REF N6490 .A87 1997

 

Atkins, Robert. Artspoke: A Guide to Modern Ideas, Movements and Buzzwords, 1848-1944. New York: Abbeville, 1993.
HUNT FA-REF-4 N6447 .A85 1993 

A gateway to these art dictionaries and encyclopedias
Grove Art Online
Benezit Dictionary of Artists
The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
The Oxford Companion to Western Art
The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms.

Payne, Michael, Jessica Rae Barbera, and Blackwell Reference Online (Online service). A Dictionary of Cultural and Critical Theory. 2nd ed. Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; Malden, MA: Wiley-Blackwell, 2010.
E-BOOK

Kelly, Michael, ed. Encyclopedia of Aesthetics. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998.
E-BOOK
Print edition HUNT FA-REF-4 BH56 .E53 1998 Volumes 1-4 

Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy.
Each artilce is authored by an authority in the field.  Search by topics, field of study, time periods, regions and religions.
E-BOOK

 

Each article is authored by  and authority in the field. Includes peer-reviewed publications. Maintained by Stanford University.
OPEN-ACCESS WEB

Credo Reference 
E-BOOK gateway to reference works across disciplines. Search across all databases or choose singular works by subject. Examples of content:

• Concise Atlas of World History
• World Politics since 1945
• Aesthetics A-Z
• Critical Terms for Art History
• Dictionary of Visual Discourse: A Dialectical Lexicon of Terms
• A Glossary of Political Theory
• Propaganda and Mass Persuasion: A Historical Encyclopedia, 1500 to the Present
• The Sage Dictionary of Cultural Studies
   

Oxford Reference 
E-BOOK gateway through Oxford University Press containing reference works on art and across disciplines. Search across all databases or choose singular works by subject. Examples of content:

• Encyclopedia of Aesthetics
• The Oxford Companion to Philosophy
• Dictionary of Contemporary World History