Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Drama: Dance Resources: Overview

In this guide

Basic resources for dance: library catalogs, article databases, streaming performance databases, reference books.
See also Drama: Basic Resources

Databases

Try the following databases to begin. Other arts, humanities or literature databases will also be worth examining. For a complete list of databases and access to articles in the Carnegie Mellon Libraries link to Databases A-Z.

Cameo and Other Library Catalogs

Cameo  Carnegie Mellon University Libraries catalog to find books, articles, media, videos, recordings and more at CMU.
Pittcat  University of Pittsburgh Library holdings
The Catalog  Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh holdings; excellent music and scores collection
Pittsburgh library catalogs of Duquesne University, Chatham University, Carlow University, Point Park University, and Robert Morris University.
WorldCat  includes holdings for all of the above as well as other local, regional, national and international library
holdin


Streaming Video Databases

Medici.tv
Offers filmed concerts performed by today’s greatest names in classical music, archive movies, inspiring documentaries on performers and composers, educational programs, and master classes.

Met Opera on Demand
Provides unlimited access to more than 450 extraordinary Met performances.

Ontheboards.tv
High-quality films of full-length performances by current provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms.

Dance in Video
...productions and documentaries in streaming video with influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Includes ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational dance, and forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance;
search, browse, cite or bookmark videos to the moment; make custom clips, annotate and share them.

Opera in Video
...important opera performances, captured on video through staged productions, interviews and documentaries; selections are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Theatre in Video
...definitive performances and documentaries in streaming video with leading actors, playwrights and directors covering a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Includes contemporary revivals of classic works, television broadcasts of New York productions, experimental performances and more;
search, browse and bookmark scenes, monologues, and staging examples to a link that can be shared.


Streaming Music, Music Performance and Scores Online

American Song
Streaming music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present.

Classical Music in Video
Streaming video of classical music performances by leading orchestras, chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Classical Music Library
Streaming audio with a supplementary reference database, enabling patrons to listen while simultaneously searching and browsing the Classical reference database. Send-to-mobile functionality.

Classical Scores Library
Encompasses more than one million pages of classical scores for teaching and study. Includes a mix of public domain, previously unpublished, and in-copyright works from all major classical music genres and time periods.

Library Music Source
This is the online version of the CD Sheet Music and Orchestra Musician’s CD-ROM Library CD-ROMs. The music is selected from out-of-copyright standard editions from publishers such as Breitkopf and Hartel, C.F. Peters, G. Schirmer, Carl Fischer, G. Ricordi, Durand and many others. The editorial staff for CD Sheet Music has chosen the best edition available for each work.

Medici.tv
Offers filmed concerts performed by today’s greatest names in classical music, archive movies, inspiring documentaries on performers and composers, educational programs, and master classes.

Met Opera on Demand
Provides unlimited access to more than 450 extraordinary Met performances.

Music Online Collections
Streaming audio, video, scores and full text reference content from all Alexander Street Press perfomance databases to which Carnegie Mellon subscribes: American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Video, Classical Scores Library, Opera in Video, Dance in Video, Theatre in Video.

Naxos Music Library
Streaming recordings for genres such as Classical, Jazz, Blues, Nostalgia, World, Contemporary Instrumental, Chinese, Pop and Rock, Gospel, Spoken Word, and Relaxation. iPhone and Android apps available.

Naxos Music Library Jazz
Streaming music from the artists and collections of Fantasy Records.

OnTheBoards.tv
Watch high-quality films of full-length performances by some of today’s most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms.


Article and Dissertation Databases

African American Studies Center
Combines Oxford University Press scholarly reference works in one online resource focusing on the lives and events shaping African American and African history and culture.

Dissertations and Theses Global
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.

Dissertations and Theses @ Carnegie Mellon 1920-present
Citations and abstracts of dissertations and theses CMU graduate students have published through UMI Dissertation Publishing. In addition to citations and abstracts, the service provides free access to 24 page previews and the full text in PDF format, when available. In most cases, this will be works published in 1997 forward.

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full-Text
The online edition of the scholarly International Bibliography of Theatre.
The print citation-only editions from 1982-1999 are available on the 4th floor of Hunt Library in the Arts Reference section. FA-REF-4 Z6935 .I53

International Index to the Performing Arts
Database indexes articles (1988-present) from more than 140 international performing arts periodicals from 9 countries, and also indexes feature performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Covers all aspects of the world of the performing arts, except music. Both scholarly and popular subjects are addressed. Most entries include an abstract in addition to the citation. The retrospective database draws citations from 46 periodicals and dates back to 1864.

JSTOR
Full-text access to important academic journals in all disciplines

Kurt Weill Newsletter
Published twice a year; features articles and reviews (books, performances, recordings) that center on Kurt Weill with a broader look at issues of twentieth-century music and theater.

Lexis-Nexis Academic (full-text)
Business, legal and general medical/health information; continually updated news items, background information on current issues, industry news and financial information, law reviews, federal case law; access to quick information through online reference resources and directories.

MLA:International Bibliography (Distributed in FirstSearch)
A reference database for the critical study of language, literature, and folkore. Provides citations to books, book chapters, periodical articles, and dissertations in all languages for all periods beginning with the Middle Ages. Look for the SFX button to find full-text and related resources in each bibliographic source cited.

Music Index Online
1979-1999
Index to music-related scholarly and popular periodicals. Citations from over 640 international music periodicals cover a broad range of topics, including performance and recording reviews, obituaries, and first performances.

Music Online
Allows cross-searching of audio, video, scores and full text reference content from all Alexander Street Press Music databases to which Carnegie Mellon subscribes.

Proquest U.S. Newspapers, magazines, dissertations and reports

RILM Abstract of Music Literature
Database of international music sources. All scholarly works are included: articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, dissertations, Festschriften, films and videos, iconographies, critical commentaries to complete works, ethnographic recordings, conference proceedings, reviews, etc.. (formerly known as RILM, The Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale Abstracts of Music Literature.

 

 

 

 

Questions?

Mo Dawley
Art and Drama Librarian
md2z@andrew.cmu.edu
412-268-6625

Acqs of interest

Reference

Reference Books

Bremser, Martha. International Dictionary of Ballet. Detroit: St. James Press, 1993.
HUNT FA-REF-4 792.8 I61 2 volumes

Craine, Debra and Mackrell, Judith. The Oxford Dictionary of Dance. Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 2000.
HUNT FA-REF-4 792.8 C 886o

Spain, Louise. Dance on Camera: A Guide to Dance Films and Videos. London: Scarecrow Press and New York: Neal Schumann Publishers, Inc., 1998.
HUNT FA-REF-4 792.8 D173a


Organizations

Society of Dance History Scholars (SDHS)
 


Local Resources

Dance Alloy @ the Kelly Strayhorn Theater, Pittsburgh.
Ask about viewing their dance video archive.

Featured: National Center for Choreography in the Ohio Valley Region