University Libraries Coronavirus Updates
Remote Resources
Extended Resources
Open Access Sites @ CMU Databases A-Z
Try these venues for streaming theatre at home
Lincoln Center at Home
http://lincolncenter.org/lincoln-center-at-home
National Theatre, London at Home
https://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/nt-at-home
Stratford Festival Stratfest at Home
https://www.stratfordfestival.ca/AtHome
Free 12-play Shakespeare Film Festival until the end of July
CMU Library Catalog
All holdings of the print and digital collections of Carnegie Mellon University Libraries.
To find out if CMU has access to print or online journals do a Journal Search.
For resources CMU does not have, use Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
WorldCat
Catalog of books and other materials in libraries worldwide including the holdings of CMU and local public and university libraries. Use this in conjunction with the CMU Library Catalog
Databases for Theatre
Start with these databases ranging from the library catalog to article databases and dissertations to begin theatre research.
Find Plays and Monologues
Locate playscripts in print and online.
Audio Collection
A wide range of audio music and sound from the classics to sound effects, analog and digital.
Film and Video Collection
Search and access films and DVDs and streaming video collections
Arts Library Visual Resources
Make this your first stop for finding high resolution subscription image databases at CMU such as ARTstor, AP Images and the Digital Image Database as well as carefully selected open access image collections..
CMU University Archives:
Includes School of Drama Photographs (1914-1981) of productions, costume stills and characer shots, prompt books and more.
Library of Congress Classification
Hunt Library Arts Guide: Library of Congress Classification
Citation Styles and Management
Manuals and tips for Chicago, MLA and APA styles.
The Global Communication Center (GCC) provides free writing consultations for students and the CMU community with trained communication tutors through one-on-one sessions and classroom workshops.
University Archives contains archival collection pertaining to drama that date back to the founding of the Drama Department at Carnegie Tech in 1914. Collections include production photographs from 1914 through the present, programs, prompt books, scripts, costume designs, departmental and faculty papers, and related collections pertaining to the theatre and entertainment careers of Drama School alumnae including:
and more...
News from the Real World by David Boevers
The Pittsburgh Tatler by Wendy Arons
Reframing the Musical by
This critical and inclusive edited collection offers an overview of the musical in relation to issues of race, culture and identity. Bringing together contributions from Cultural, American and Theatre Studies for the first time, the chapters offer fresh perspectives on musical theatre history, calling for a radical and inclusive new approach. By questioning ideas about what the musical is about and who it for, this groundbreaking book retells the story of the musical, prioritising previously neglected voices to reshape our understanding of the form. Timely and engaging, this is required reading for undergraduate and postgraduate students of Musical Theatre. It offers an intersectional approach which will also be invaluable for theatre practitioners.
Staged Normality in Shakespeare's England by
This book looks at the staging and performance of normality in early modern drama. Analysing conventions and rules, habitual practices, common things and objects, and mundane sights and experiences, this volume foregrounds a staged normality that has been heretofore unseen, ignored, or taken for granted. It draws together leading and emerging scholars of early modern theatre and culture to debate the meaning of normality in an early modern context and to discuss how it might transfer to the stage. In doing so, these original critical essays unsettle and challenge scholarly assumptions about how normality is represented in the performance space. The volume, which responds to studies of the everyday and the material turn in cultural history, as well as to broader philosophical engagements with the idea of normality and its opposites, brings to light the essential role that normality plays in the composition and performance of early modern drama.
Physical Dramaturgy by
What is physical dramaturgy? While the traditional dramaturg shares research intellectually, the physical dramaturg does so viscerally and somatically. By combining elements of text, history, dramatic structure, and the author¿s intent with movement analysis and physical theatre pedagogies, the physical dramaturg gives actors the opportunity to manifest their work in a connected and intuitive manner and creates a field that is as varied and rich as the theatre itself. Physical Dramaturgy: Perspectives from the Field explores the ways in which this unique role can benefit the production team during the design and rehearsal phases of both traditional and devised productions. Individual chapters look at new ways of approaching a wealth of physical worlds, from the works of Shakespeare and other period playwrights to the processes of Jerzy Grotowski, Lloyd Williamson, Richard Schechner, and Michael Chekhov, and devising original works in a variety of contexts from Pig Iron, Dell¿Arte International, Bill Bowers and mime, Tectonic Theater Project, and Liz Lerman¿s Dance Exchange. This anthology gives dramaturgs, actors, and directors new ways of looking at existing methods and provides examples of how to translate, combine, and adapt them into new explorations for training, rehearsal, or research.
Afro-Fabulations by
Argues for a conception of black cultural life that exceeds post-blackness and conditions of loss In Afro-Fabulations: The Queer Drama of Black Life, cultural critic and historian Tavia Nyong'o surveys the conditions of contemporary black artistic production in the era of post-blackness. Moving fluidly between the insurgent art of the 1960's and the intersectional activism of the present day, Afro-Fabulations challenges genealogies of blackness that ignore its creative capacity to exceed conditions of traumatic loss, social death, and archival erasure. If black survival in an anti-black world often feels like a race against time, Afro-Fabulations looks to the modes of memory and imagination through which a queer and black polytemporality is invented and sustained. Moving past the antirelational debates in queer theory, Nyong'o posits queerness as "angular sociality," drawing upon queer of color critique in order to name the gate and rhythm of black social life as it moves in and out of step with itself. He takes up a broad range of sites of analysis, from speculative fiction to performance art, from artificial intelligence to Blaxploitation cinema. Reading the archive of violence and trauma against the grain, Afro-Fabulations summons the poetic powers of queer world-making that have always been immanent to the fight and play of black life. Argues for a conception of black cultural life that exceeds post-blackness and conditions of loss In Afro-Fabulations: The Queer Drama of Black Life, cultural critic and historian Tavia Nyong'o surveys the conditions of contemporary black artistic production in the era of post-blackness. Moving fluidly between the insurgent art of the 1960's and the intersectional activism of the present day, Afro-Fabulations challenges genealogies of blackness that ignore its creative capacity to exceed conditions of traumatic loss, social death, and archival erasure. If black survival in an anti-black world often feels like a race against time, Afro-Fabulations looks to the modes of memory and imagination through which a queer and black polytemporality is invented and sustained. Moving past the antirelational debates in queer theory, Nyong'o posits queerness as "angular sociality," drawing upon queer of color critique in order to name the gate and rhythm of black social life as it moves in and out of step with itself. He takes up a broad range of sites of analysis, from speculative fiction to performance art, from artificial intelligence to Blaxploitation cinema. Reading the archive of violence and trauma against the grain, Afro-Fabulations summons the poetic powers of queer world-making that have always been immanent to the fight and play of black life.
Beyond Scenography by
Focused on the contemporary Anglophone adoption from the 1960s onwards, Beyond Scenography explores the porous state of contemporary theatre-making to argue a critical distinction between scenography (as a crafting of place orientation) and scenographics (that which orientate acts of worlding, of staging). With sections on installation art and gardening as well as marketing and placemaking, this book is an argument for what scenography does: how assemblages of scenographic traits orientate, situate, and shape staged events. Established stage orthodoxies are revisited - including the symbiosis of stage and scene and the aesthetic ideology of 'the scenic' - to propose how scenographics are formative to all staged events. Consequently, one of the conclusions of this book is that there is no theatre practice without scenography, no stages without scenographics. Beyond Scenography offers a manifesto for a renewed theory of scenographic practice.
More....
Barnette, Jane. Adapturgy : The Dramaturg's Art and Theatrical Adapatation.
Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press.
HUNT STACKS-4 (Stacks 4th Floor) PN2053 .B319X 2018
Luckett, Sharrell D.and Tia M. Shaffer.
Black Acting Methods: Critical Approaches. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY: Routledge, 2017.
E-book
Dustagheer Sarah and Gillian Woods, eds. Stage Directions and Shakespearean Theatre. London: Bloomsbury Arden Shakespeare, 2018
E-book
Brejzek, Thea and Lawrence Wallen. The Model as Performance: Staging Space in Theatre and Architecture. London: Bloomsbury Methuen Drama, 2018.
E-book
Knopf, Robert. The Director As Collaborator. New York ; London : Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2017
E-book
To find more new books and other resources in print and electronically in the University Libraries collection:
>go to library.cmu.edu or Advanced Search
>choose Books & More option (for books and e-books) OR choose other available options
>Type in your search.
>Sort by Date-newest
Explore this script discovery database brought to you by the National New Play Network, an alliance of non-profit theaters dedicated to the development, production, and continued life of new plays.'
Features: Search, read and download scripts, view writer profiles, contact writers, read script recommendations from professionals throughout the field; search plays by using any number of options including cast size, play length, age level, genre, subject matter, gender or sexual identity and ethnicity; search people by writer type and demographics. Other features include an organization search, periodic “featured lists” of writers, plays and organization, and an index of large-cast shows, solo shows, shorts and 2-person scripts.
Collections
Curtis Theatre Collection (Univ of Pittsburgh)
Digital Collections in the Performing Arts
NY Public Library for the Performing Arts
New York Public Library Public Domain Collections
V&A Museum Theatre and Performance Collections
AHDS Performing Art Collection
Organizations
American Theatre Wing: Tony and Obie Awards
Television Academy of Arts and Sciences Emmys
Association for Theatre in Higher Education
ASTR American Society for Theatre Research
SAG-AFTRA
SAG-AFTRA Four Pillars of Change and Code of Conduct 2018
USITT U.S. Institute for Theatre Technology
"Located in the heart of midtown Manhattan, New Dramatists is a hub for the theatre community. Our building’s library is open to the public and houses a rare collection of new play manuscripts, many of which are unpublished and only available to read on site. In addition, we offer specific opportunities for writers, students, composers, actors, directors, other theatre artists, and new play aficionados to engage with our community."
HowlRound is a free and open platform for theatremakers worldwide that amplifies progressive, disruptive ideas about the art form and facilitates connection between diverse practitioners originating at Emerson College
Open web databases
IBDb Internet Broadway Database
Theatre Links: Resources from Across the Globe (Justin Cash)
Doolee.com
Online guide to modern playwrights and theatre plays which have been written, adapted or translated, into English from 1956 onward.
La MaMa Experimental Theatre Club and the Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research (WCFTR) have created digital video access files of a rare collection of videotapes documenting productions from the 1970s are now available to researchers.
La MaMa received a $100,000 grant from the National Historical Publications and Records Commission in 2017 to have 268 ½ inch open reel videotapes digitized by the Bay Area Video Coalition (BAVC). The tapes contain approximately 170 performances staged at La MaMa dating between 1970-1980. Here is the finding aid.
Internet Shakespeare Editions (ISE) is an open-access, non-profit scholarly website presenting full-text Shakespeare plays and poems, Shakespeare’s life and times, and Shakespeare in performance.
ShakespearesWords.com
Authored by David and Ben Crystal including a glossary, a thesaurus, and complete lists of playscripts, poems and characters, plus plot summaries and diagrams showing characther interaction and each character's part.
The print edition of the glossary (London ; New York : Penguin Books) is located in the Hunt Library arts reference section
HUNT-FA-REF-4 PR2892 .C78 2002
