Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Drama: Musical Theatre: Overview

This guide..

Basic resources for musical theatre research: Searching and browsing,
streaming performance, online music and scores, new acquisitions, reference resources.


Questions?

Mo Dawley,
Art and Drama Librarian
Hunt Library
Art Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Drama Research Guide

Send
Email

New acqs of interest

 
Studies in Musical Theatre
Refereed articles (2006-present) which consider areas of live performance that use vocal and instrumental music in conjunction with theatrical performance as a principal part of their expressive language.

Browse the library stacks for musicals and operatic scores

Go to these call number areas in Hunt Library on the 4th Floor in the oversized books section:
M1500-1508 (HUNT OVRSZQ-4)

 

 


 


 

Browse the library stacks


M Music

M1.A5 - M3.3 Collections

M3-3.3 Collected works of individual composers

M5-1480 Instrumental music

M6-175.5 One solo instrument

M176 Motion picture music

M177-990 Two or more solo instruments

M1000-1075 Orchestra

M1100-1160 String orchestra

M1200-1270 Band

M1495-2199 Vocal music

M1500-1508 Operas and musicals

M1528-1529.5 Two or more solo voices

M1611-1624.8 One solo voice

M1999-2199 Sacred vocal music

 

ML Literature on music

ML159-3785 History and criticism

ML410 Composer biographies

ML3790-3792 Music trade

ML3795 Music as a profession

ML3800-3923 Philosophical and societal aspects of music. Physics and acoustics of

music. Physiological aspects of music

 

Music Instruction and study

MT5.5-7 Music theory

MT9-15 Printed pedagogical aids

MT35-39 Notation

MT40-67 Composition. Elements and techniques of music

MT70-74 Instrumentation and orchestration

MT85 Conducting. Score reading and playing

MT90-146 Analysis and appreciation of musical works

MT820-915 Singing and vocal technique

 

 

Search the Library Catalog (Cameo)

Search in Cameo by specifics if known
e.g. song name, production name or a person's name (lyricist, composter, director etc.)

Limit your search to music score

Use Cameo Advanced Search
and indicate Score as the Material Type:



 

Limit your search to libretto
Use the term libretto as one of your search terms.

 

Limit your search to audio or video recordings
Use Cameo Advanced Search and indicate any one of these Material Type Categories

  • Recording
  • CD
  • DVD
  • STRM-VIDEO (streaming video)
  • VIDEO

To browse the library catalog in general for musicals
try these search terms as part of your search query... or limit to other criteria in Cameo Advanced Search:

  • Musicals
  • Musical
  • Musical revue


Reference resources

Blumenfeld, Robert. Blumenfeld's Dictionary of Musical Theater 0pera, 0peretta, Musical Comedy
HUNT FA-REF-4 ML102 .M875 B58 2010


Cover Image
Ganzl, Kurt. The Encyclopedia of the Musical Theatre.  New York: NY: Schirmer Books, 2001.
HUNT-FA-REF-4 ML102 .M88 G3 2001. 3 volumes.

 

Cover Image
Greenfield, Thomas A. ed. Broadway: An Encyclopedia of Theater and American Culture. Santa Barbara; Denver; London, Greenwood ABC Clio, 2010.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2277 .N5 B62  2 volumes

 

Hischak, Thomas. Broadway Plays and Musicals: Descriptions and Essential Facts of more than 14,000 shows...
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2277 .N5 H573 2009



Dietz, Dan. Off Broadway Musicals, 1910-2007 :casts, credits, songs, critical reception and performance data...
HUNT-FA-REF-4ML1711.8 .N3 D54 2010

Internet Broadway Database (IBDB)
Use this in conjunction with other research resources


The New York Times Book of Broadway : on the aisle for the unforgettable plays of the last century
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2277 .N5 N45 2001


Norton, Richard C. A Chronology of American Musical Theater.
HUNT FA-REF-4 ML1711 .8.N3 N67 2002 (3 volumes)


Oxford Handbooks Online: Music

Scholarly review essays evaluating current thinking on a field or topic.

 

Oxford Music Online
Includes The New Grove Dictionary of Music & Musicians (2001), The New Grove Dictionary of Opera (1992), The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz (2002), The Oxford Companion to Music (2002) and The Oxford Dictionary of Music (2006).

Theatre World, 1945-present
Definitive annual record of American theatre. Includes Broadway,Off-Broadway, Off-Off-Broadway, and regional theatre, theatrical awards, obituaries, biographies, awards.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2277 .N5 A17 

Streaming music, music performance and scores online

American Song
Streaming music from Americans of diverse origins and all walks of life, from America’s past and present.

Classical Music in Video
Streaming video of classical music performances by leading orchestras, chamber music, oratorio, and solo performances, along with masterclasses and interviews with master teachers from around the world.

Classical Music Library
Streaming audio with a supplementary reference database, enabling patrons to listen while simultaneously searching and browsing the Classical reference database. Send-to-mobile functionality.

Classical Scores Library
Encompasses more than one million pages of classical scores for teaching and study. Includes a mix of public domain, previously unpublished, and in-copyright works from all major classical music genres and time periods.

Library Music Source
This is the online version of the CD Sheet Music and Orchestra Musician’s CD-ROM Library CD-ROMs. The music is selected from out-of-copyright standard editions from publishers such as Breitkopf and Hartel, C.F. Peters, G. Schirmer, Carl Fischer, G. Ricordi, Durand and many others. The editorial staff for CD Sheet Music has chosen the best edition available for each work.

Medici.tv
Offers filmed concerts performed by today’s greatest names in classical music, archive movies, inspiring documentaries on performers and composers, educational programs, and master classes.

Met Opera on Demand
Provides unlimited access to more than 450 extraordinary Met performances.

Music Online Collections
Streaming audio, video, scores and full text reference content from all Alexander Street Press perfomance databases to which Carnegie Mellon subscribes: American Song, Classical Music Library, Classical Music Video, Classical Scores Library, Opera in Video, Dance in Video, Theatre in Video.

Naxos Music Library
Streaming recordings for genres such as Classical, Jazz, Blues, Nostalgia, World, Contemporary Instrumental, Chinese, Pop and Rock, Gospel, Spoken Word, and Relaxation. iPhone and Android apps available.

Naxos Music Library Jazz
Streaming music from the artists and collections of Fantasy Records.

OnTheBoards.tv
Watch high-quality films of full-length performances by some of today’s most provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms that defy categorization.

Streaming theatre productions

Digital Theatre Plus
Recent British theatre productions streamed in high definition; additional educational content. One year trial.

Medici.tv
Filmed concerts performed by today’s greatest names in classical music, archive movies, documentaries on performers and composers, educational programs, and master classes.

Met Opera on Demand
Access to more than 450 extraordinary Met performances.

Ontheboards.tv
High-quality films of full-length performances by current provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms.

Dance in Video
Productions and documentaries with influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Includes ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational dance, and forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance.

Opera in Video
Performances captured on video through staged productions, interviews and documentaries; selections are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Theatre in Video
Definitive performances and documentaries with leading actors, playwrights and directors covering a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Includes contemporary revivals of classic works, television broadcasts of New York productions, experimental performances and more.

Article Databases

Proquest
Mega-database that searches many interdisciplinary databases together - journals, newspapers, magazines, disseratations; also industry reports.

 
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance
Cites articles and books with selected access to full-text content relating to all aspects of performance and the theatre; replaces the scholarly print edition of the International Bibliography of Theatre.

 
International Index to the Performing Arts
Cites international scholarly and poplular articles on the performing arts, except music. It also cites performing arts articles and obituaries appearing in The New York Times and The Washington Post. Most records include an abstract in addition to the citation. The retrospective database draws citations from 46 periodicals and dates back to 1864.
 
Music Index
Citations of articles about classical and popular music, musicians, and the music industry for more than 475 periodicals, as well as book reviews, obituaries, news, and selective coverage for more than 230 periodicals. Covers 1970-present

 
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Citations and abstracts for scholarly articles, books, commentaries, conference proceedings, dissertations, festschriften, reviews, internet resources, motion pictures, sound recordings and technical drawings of musical instruments are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals are indexed if they are of scholarly interest. Covers 1967-present.
 
Studies in Musical Theatre
A refereed articles (2006-present) which consider areas of live performance that use vocal and instrumental music in conjunction with theatrical performance as a principal part of their expressive language.

Newspapers Guide (Sue Collins, History Librarian)

Organizations


Musical Theatre Artists of Pittsburgh
"exists to foster collaboration between musical theatre artists in the Pittsburgh region, and to create opportunities for the development, presentation, and production of new musical theatre."

 

Pittsburgh CLO
Promtoes musical theatre through the creation of productions and education programs.

 


National Alliance for
Musical
Promotes the creation, development, production and presentation of new and classic musicals.