Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Drama: 54-281: Foundations of Drama II: 20th Century Productions: Research Best Practices

RESEARCH METHODOLOGY: BEST PRACTICES


Intrigue! (Research is rarely ever well-achieved in a straight line)

Explore diverse resources to make the strongest case for your production paper.

  • Critical monographs
  • Historical monographs
  • Biography/Autobiography
  • Articles and reviews in journals and newspapers
  • Sourcebooks
  • Casebooks
  • Annuals
  • Encyclopedias
  • Surveys
  • Timelines
  • Audio and/or visual resources
  • People!
  • Archives
  • Organizations
  • Special Collections...


Start with critical monographs dedicated to a play, musical or practitioner 

Not sure what production you want to research?

Search all pertinent journal databases for reviews and articles

  • Exhaust the suggested article databases in this guide.
  • Google Scholar


Log your research strategies when searching databases to minimize search replication

  • library catalogs (such as Cameo)
  • article databases such (such as International Theatre of Bibliography and Dance)
  • search engines (such as Google)


Evaluate resources

  • Identify the source and analyze content for authority, objectivity, accuracy, currency, and breadth.

 

 

Questions?

 |
Eileen Darby. Keystone Features. Getty Images


Mo Dawley
Art and Drama Librarian

Contact Info:
Hunt Library
Art Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Drama Research Guide

Send Email

New online journal

Studies in Musical Theatre
Refereed articles (2006-present) which consider areas of live performance that use vocal and instrumental music in conjunction with theatrical performance as a principal part of their expressive language.