Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Art: Resources Overview

New Books and Databases


Firestone, Evan R.. Animism and Shamanism in Twentieth-century Art: Kandinsky, Ernst, Pollock, Beuys. New York: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group, 2017.


Geczy, Adam. The Artificial Body in Fashion and Art: Marionettes, Models, and Mannequins. London ; New York, NY: Bloomsbury Academic, 2017.


Zbarskai͡a, Olʹga. Brainstorm!: Practice for Unrestricted Imagination and Original Thought. Santa Barbara, California: Praeger, 2017.
E- BOOK


Kriebel, Sabine T., Andrés Mario Zervigón. Photography and Doubt. Abingdon, Oxon ; New York, NY: Routledge, 2017.
E-BOOK


Terranova, Charissa N.,, Meredith Tromble. The Routledge Companion to Biology in Art and Architecture. New York, NY: Routledge, 2017.
 


Routledge Companion to Sounding Art
(e-book)
Cobussen, Marcel et. al. New York, NY ; Abingdon, Oxon : Routledge, 2017


Zettl, Herbert. Sight, Sound, Motion: Applied Media Aesthetics. Eighth edition. Boston: Cengage Learning, 2017.


For More New Books
  • keyword search in Cameo
  • look for the Sort Relevance box
  • sort by Date (pull-down menu)


   
Life Magazine Archive. Cover to cover from 1926-2000.

 



Kanopy Streaming Service. Access to over 25,000 documentary and feature films on many subjects: arts, business, global studies, health, sciences, technical training, etc. For questions, contact Jeff Hinkelman.


Time Magazine  Archive

Complete digital version of more than 77 years of the prominent weekly news magazine, dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format

Basics

Basic Art Reference 
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, directories, art history surveys, major exhibition catalogs, timelines, art theory and criticism resource books and links.

Arts Library Visual Resources 
Make this your first stop for finding high resolution subscription image databases at CMU such as ARTstor, AP Images and the Digital Image Database as well as carefully selected open access image collections.
.

 

Audio Collection
A wide range of audio music and sound from the classics to sound effects, analog and digital.

 

Film and Video Collection
Search and access films and DVDs, Recreational DVDs and streaming video collections


Key Art Article Databases

Art and Architecture Source (formerly Art Source)

Focus on art and architecture; combines article databases Art Full-Text, Art Index Retrospective and Art and Architecture Complete with increased access to full-text and interdisciplinary content. International coverage including some full-text books and images.
 

ARTbibliographies Modern 1974- (updated irregularly)

Citations and abstracts
Journal articles, exhibition catalogs, exhibition reviews, books, dissertations and essays in books or exhibition catalogs. Covers modern and contemporary art, art history, photography and design beginning with artists and movements in the late 19th century, and photography since it's invention in 1839.

 

Bibliography of the History of Art/Repertoire de la literature de l'art

Citations and abstracts
The(BHA/RILA) database contains citations and abstracts for European and American books, journal articles, conference proceedings, dissertations, exhibition catalogs and dealers' catalogs covering topics from late antiquity through the first decade of the 21st century. The database combines the records of BHA from 1990-2007 and records from The Repertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA), one of the predecessors of BHA, covering publication years 1975-1989.


Click Here
for more article databases covering Art, Arts and across disciplines!


e-flux

A publishing
/curatorial platform and archive for contemporary art, culture and theory internationally. If you subscribe to the e-mail newsletter be ready to receive  two or three messages a day announcing and describing international projects.



Streaming Video Databases

Digital Theatre Plus
Recent British theatre productions streamed in high definition; additional educational content.

Drama Online Globe on Screen
World-class performance at the Globe on streaming video.

Kanopy Streaming Service. Over 25,000 documentary and feature films on many subjects: arts, business, global studies, health, sciences, technical training, etc. For questions, contact Jeff Hinkelman.

Medici.tv
Filmed concerts performed by today’s greatest names in classical music, archive movies, inspiring documentaries on performers and composers, educational programs, and master classes.

Met Opera on Demand
Unlimited access to more than 450 extraordinary Met performances.

Ontheboards.tv
High-quality films of full-length performances by current provocative artists working in dance, theater, music and other forms.

Dance in Video
Productions and documentaries  with influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Includes ballet, tap, jazz, contemporary, experimental, improvisational dance, and forerunners of the forms and the pioneers of modern concert dance;
search, browse, cite or bookmark videos to the moment; make custom clips, annotate and share them.

Opera in Video
Performances captured on video through staged productions, interviews and documentaries; selections are based on a work’s importance to the operatic canon.

Theatre in Video
Definitive performances and documentaries with leading actors, playwrights and directors covering a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Includes contemporary revivals of classic works, television broadcasts of New York productions, experimental performances and more;search, browse and bookmark scenes, monologues, and staging examples to a link that can be shared.

World Newsreels Online
Full runs of many of the key international newsreels produced during the early twentieth century. Newsreels are in English, French and Japanese.

Featured e-Journals

Pittsburgh Articulate
Online platform for critical writing and dialog related to arts issues in the Pittsburgh region including reviews, interviews, articles and discussion.

 

Art Margins
Scholarly articles and essays addressing global postmodern and post-colonial issues in contemporary art, media, architecture, visual culture, and critical theory. Including: art and politics in transitional countries and regions; post-socialism and neo-liberalism; the problem of global art and global art history and its methodologies.

Open Access Web Resources


An open access digital repository for full-text documents about contemporary Canadian art and Artexte's catalog of publications on contemporary art from 1965 to the present.

Open access to some full-text books online.

 

Open access to full-text scholarly literature.

Art and Drama Librarian

Do you know about these local resources?


Pittsburgh Artist Registry

A free portal for literary, performing, and multi-disciplinary artists in southwestern PA allowing artists to promote their work.


A digital journal (formerly the CMoA Blog) to further discourse surrounding the museum’s exhibition program, collections, the interconnections of the local community and beyond.  A new story is published online each Tuesday.

 


Department of Film and Video
Archive
The Carnegie Museum of Art, Oakland

Global resources online


Universes in Universe: Worlds of Art 
Global art and events including a continually updated Calendar of Biennials and a vast array of current exhibitions.

 

World Wide Video Festival
http://www.wwvf.nl/homepage/index.html
A continuing platform for media arts including performance art. The actual festivals were held from 1982-2004. Under the heading "Archive" the website contains a  year-by-year survey of each of the 22 festivals. A detailed index of the catalogs
produced is also included. Their extensive collection of tapes and installations is currently being cataloged and digitized.