CMU LibGuides: Art: Journals & Newspapers

Journal Search

Journal Search
Find out if CMU has access to print or online journals and newspapers.

Online Journals

Artforum Archive This link opens in a new window
Backfile of one of the most influential magazines in the contemporary art world.

Leonardo
Peer-reviewed journal on the use of contemporary science and technology in the arts and music and the application and influence of the arts and humanities on science and technology.

The New Yorker This link opens in a new window
Full-page color access to the archives of the New Yorker magazine, from 1925 to the present, as part of the OpinionArchives database.

Print Journals

Recent and past issues of print journals are shelved by title on the 3rd floor of Hunt Library. Newspapers and journals on microfilm or microfiche are also located on HL-3.

The most recent issues of some popular arts-related magazines are shelved on the 4th floor of Hunt Library, including: Artforum International, Aperture, Make, and Wired.

While some titles are available online, in many cases, recent years may be available only in print. Use Journal Search to confirm formats and locations.

Online Newspapers

Newspapers.com World Collection This link opens in a new window
Online access to historical newspapers, dating from the early 1700s to the early 2000s. Contains full or partial runs of well-known regional and state titles to small local newspapers in the United States and other countries.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text access to New York Times, 1980 - present. For historical access, go here. New York Times Online articles are here. Fully searchable full page images of issues from 2008 - current (with a 3-month embargo) are available here.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Full-text and full-image articles from old editions of major American (and some Canadian) newspapers. Dates vary based upon title, but most range from 19th-late 20th centuries. Titles can be searched individually under "Change Databases."
ProQuest International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
ca. 2000-present. Exact dates vary by title. News content outside of the US and Canada including The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, and Asian Wall Street Journal.
ProQuest US Newsstream This link opens in a new window
1980-present. Premium US News content including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and The Wall Street Journal.