This guide
covers resources in finance, banking, and investments used for coursework, research, and understanding

Financial research and news
Four top academic journals:
- Journal of Finance
- Journal of Financial Economics
- Journal of Financial and Quantitative Analysis
- Review of Financial Studies
Financial news sources:
- Financial TimesLondon-based international financial and business news
- New York Times DealbookNYT daily coverage of the financial markets
- Wall Street Journalpartial access on their site; for full access, use the ProQuest database or your Tepper subscription
- Bloombergalso visit the Bloomberg terminal in rm. A1 in the Tepper lower level.
- The Economistfor full and historical access, use this database
- Riskspecializes in financial risk management and the global derivatives markets.
- Institutional Investorcoverage of capital markets and asset management. (Articles only, and 1 month embargo.)
- Alacra Pulsekey events and commentary from both traditional analysts and alternative media/blog sources
Financial research and news - databases - many sources in one place
- Google Scholarsearches over thousands of scholarly journals in all fields; full text for our subscriptions is here if you're on campus or using the VPN (see above.
- Academic OneFileditto
- Business Source Premiercontains thousands of journals and trade publications, international.
- LexisNexis Academicthe most wide-ranging international, national and local news.
- eJournals A-ZIf you have a specific article you're looking for, use this to see if we have a subscription and link to it. If it's not there, give Google Scholar (linked above) a try - you never know!
Annual Reports and SEC filings
- SEC databasepublic company and mutual fund (though not hedge fund) filings, including many international companies.
- Investor Relations section of any company's websiteshould have links to both the actual filings, the printed annual report, and conference call/executive presentations.
- Mergent Online links to company filings for US and international companies
- Investext/Thomson Research(best with Internet Explorer) offers detailed conference call transcripts
- Historical Annual Reportsin print, for over 800 companies from 1844 to the present.
Financial Data

- Thomson ONE (use Internet Explorer version 9)
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) (and here's a user guide)
- S&P Capital IQ Netadvantage (user guide)
- Mergent Online (another user guide)
- MarketLine Advantage (formerly Datamonitor)
- International Financial Statistics database
- SDC Platinum - Global New Issues
- Bloomberg terminal – room A1 in the GSIA basement - (user guide)
- CISDM Hedge Fund Data (on WRDS platform - see WRDS user guide above)
- Yahoo Finance
- National Information Center (Federal Reserve)
- LIBOR rates
- Consumer finance data from Passport GMID database
- OECD data and papers on global finance
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks
- Encyclopedia of Quantitative FinanceeBook - 4 volumes of expert articles, models, formulas, graphs, charts, etc. on everything related to quant finance.
- Handbook of Finance print only :-( but worth the trip - a 3 volume encyclopedia edited by Frank Fabozzi - expert overviews of the essential theories, developments, and issues in the world of finance. Unavailable during renovations.
- Oxford Dictionary of Finance and BankingeBook
- Oxford Handbook of International Financial TermseBook
- Derivatives SourcebookeBook - classified bibliography of the most significant 1800 research articles in the derivatives literature
- Dictionary of Financial EngineeringeBook
- Encyclopedia of Quantitative Risk Analysis and AssessmenteBook
- Handbook of Fixed Income Securitiesprint only
- QFinance: The Ultimate ResourceeBook: Quick overviews of finance topics and concepts - important book summaries, profiles of thought leaders, calculations & ratios, best practices, information sources, quotations, action checklists, and more.
- Mathematics for Finance"an introduction to financial engineering"
Financial Services Companies - directories and listings
- Hoovers Onlinefind a company you are interested in, then check “competitors” on left hand side; has selected international companies - or, use the Build a List feature and enter your criteria: industry, location, etc.
- Thomson ONE (formerly VentureXpert/Private Equity)reports on venture capital funds, private equity firms, funded companies, and their executives in the US, Europe, and Asia. Click on "Private Equity" on the left to start. Must use Internet Explorer.
- Barclay Hedge Fund Directory(you will need to log in with your Andrew ID and PW.) A.pdf directory covering 3,381 international hedge funds. Also includes ranking tables grouped by hedge fund strategy.
- Corporate Finance Sourcebookguide to financial services firms worldwide, including venture capital firms, securities analysts, accounting firms, pension managers, business brokers, commercial and investment banks, and corporate real estate services. In print in the Hunt Library reference collection
- Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Databasecontains 23 million companies worldwide. Create and download lists with specific criteria. For financial companies, open the NAICS code search and then expand the Finance & Insurance categories. Limit also by country if you only want the US.
League Tables
- League Tables - ThomsonThomson Reuters' weekly "Investment Banking Scorecard" - download the desired .pdf - league tables are on p.2. (You'll need to register first - use your CMU email.)
- League Tables - Bloomberg: Capital Markets
- League Tables - SNLLeague tables compiled by another financial information firm.
- Customized League Tables - BloombergUse Bloomberg terminal in Tepper A1. Here's a video demo (courtesy of HBS librarians)
VENTURE CAPITAL
- VentureXpert/Private Equity databaseventure capital funds, private equity firms, funded companies, and their executives in the US, Europe, and Asia. NOTE: click on "Screening & Analysis" on the left (VC firms are included.) Must use Internet Explorer browser.
- MoneyTree Report from PriceWaterhouseCoopersVC firms by industry
- TheFunded.comonline community of entrepreneurs that research, rate, and review funding sources - membership free to CEO's, some information free to all.
Books on finance
Use the library catalog to find related books. In the "Subject" box, type in:
- finance
- banks and banking
- capital
- investments
- global financial crisis
- etc.
Example:
Dark Markets - Asset Pricing and Information Transmission in Over-the-Counter Markets
ISBN: 9780691138961
Publication Date: 2011-12-19
Industry Ratios
Financial ratios for each
industry, used to compare a company's performance to the industry as a
whole, or for cross-industry comparisons
- Bizminer - NEW!financial analysis reports on thousands of industries, from the national to zip code level, used for benchmarking, business plans, assessing opportunities, valuation, and market analysis.
- RMA Annual Statement Studiesin print in the Hunt Library reference collection



Loading...
