LibGuides: Finance: Start

This guide

covers resources in finance, banking, and investments used for coursework, research, and understanding

Financial Research

Four top academic journals:

Financial News Sources

Wall Street Journal (Dow Jones) This link opens in a new window
Economist Magazine This link opens in a new window
Risk.net This link opens in a new window
Financial Times This link opens in a new window

Financial research and news - databases - many sources in one place

Google Scholar
searches over thousands of scholarly journals in all fields; full text for our subscriptions is here if you're on campus or using the VPN (see above.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
contains thousands of journals and trade publications, international.

eJournals A-Z
If you have a specific article you're looking for, use this to see if we have a subscription and link to it. If it's not there, give Google Scholar (linked above) a try - you never know!

S&P Capital IQ

In-depth financial/valuation data resource, including information on equities, credit ratings, transactions, and more. Use hundreds of data points to generate lists of companies, markets, executives. Includes an Excel plug-in for data analysis. Use this guide for more info!

NOTE: Now available both on and off-campus! Must create an account using your CMU credentials.

**This resource can not be used during internships. It can only be used for academic and research purposes.**

CASE STUDIES

SAGE Business Cases This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3,000 business cases spanning a wide range of business disciplines from leadership to entrepreneurship, to family business and social impact. The platform provides select access to cases (click "content available to me"), a user-friendly platform, and downloading cases. SAGE has partnered with 20 business case producers, including Kellogg School of Management (Northwestern), Berkeley Haas (California), and the School of Management (Yale).

Financial Data

Mergent Online Analyst Reports This link opens in a new window
Important reports on companies and industries from Wall Street analysts and many major investment banks. Use the drop down menu to search different fields and use the "add to criteria" button to search more than one field at a time.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) This link opens in a new window
datasets in finance, economics and banking, from Standard & Poor’s Compustat, the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP,) Mergent, Dow Jones, the Federal Reserve, and the Chicago Board Options Exchange, etc. When off-campus, use VPN access. NOTE: Requires CMU email to access. After entering your CMU email address, a an email will be sent to you from WRDS with a link to access WRDS content.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
US and foreign companies, active and inactive. 15 years of financial data, mergers & acquisitions, SEC filings, institutional holdings, earnings estimates, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, insider trading, historical stock prices. Also industry and equity reports, and annual reports from 1997.
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
US private company financials, information on private M&A deals, valuations, venture capital, private equity, etc. Over 800,000 US private companies profiled. Good for locating investors and competitive intelligence. NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email. Use of this database is for academic purposes only.
CB Insights This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive global database of private companies and investors activities. Contains advanced searches for private companies, investors, and deals information (especially private equity and venture capital). Also great for news on emerging markets. An excellent resource for startups and entrepreneurship research. (NOTE: You must create an account using your CMU email).
MarketLine (previously Datamonitor) This link opens in a new window
financial deals - mergers, acquisitions, IPOs, private equity, venture financing, etc - current and historical.
International Financial Statistics This link opens in a new window
Includes this and all other databases from the International Monetary fund. Time series data used in economic analysis.

Bloomberg Terminals – Tepper Quad
One available in Hunt Library on the first floor. One available in Sorrells Library (4th floor of Wean Hall). 2 available in Tepper Quad.
OECD data and papers on global finance
banking, government debt, insurance, pensions, foreign direct investment, environmental finance, globalization, etc.
ICE LIBOR rates (FREE)
Widely-used benchmark for short-term interest rates.
National Information Center (Federal Reserve) (FREE)
central repository of detailed financial data for all banks regulated by the Federal Reserve, domestic and foreign
Yahoo Finance (FREE)
stock quotes (including historical,) company profiles, analyst coverage, earnings estimates, financials, charts, news, industry comparisons, competitors, etc. - the most complete of the free financial sites

Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks

Encyclopedia of Quantitative Finance
Handbook of Finance
more...less...
Volume I: Financial Markets and Instruments skillfully covers the general characteristics of different asset classes, derivative instruments, the markets in which financial instruments trade, and the players in those markets.

Volume II: Investment Management and Financial Management focuses on the theories, decisions, and implementations aspects associated with both financial management and investment management.

Volume III Valuation, Financial Modeling, and Quantitative Tools contains the most comprehensive coverage of the analytical tools, risk measurement methods, and valuation techniques currently used in the field of finance."
Oxford Dictionary of Finance and Banking
Oxford Handbook of International Financial Terms
Derivatives Sourcebook
Encyclopedia of Quantitative Risk Analysis and Assessment
QFinance: The Ultimate Resource
Mathematics for Finance

Financial Services Companies - directories and listings

Hoover's (Now D&B Hoovers) This link opens in a new window
find a company you are interested in, then check “competitors” on left hand side; has selected international companies - or, use the Build a List feature and enter your criteria: industry, location, etc.
ReferenceUSA (now Data Axle) This link opens in a new window
covers over 5 million global firms, with industry overviews, ratios, market research and analyst reports. - excellent starting point for getting a lot of information quickly.

League Tables: ranking of investment banks

League Tables - Bloomberg

Analyst Research

Mergent Online Analyst Reports This link opens in a new window
Important reports on companies and industries from Wall Street analysts and many major investment banks. Use the drop down menu to search different fields and use the "add to criteria" button to search more than one field at a time.
D&B Hoovers (formerly OneSource) This link opens in a new window
Click on OneSource module, then "Global Business Browser", find your company, and look to the left column for "analysts' reports."
Value Line Investment Survey This link opens in a new window
Stock reports: financial performance, projections, rankings, analyst consensus, beta, key ratios, and commentary; short industry surveys. A classic source.

Standard & Poor’s Netadvantage
In center, under “Resources” choose “Stock Reports”
Yahoo Finance
see “Analyst Coverage” section on left for brief summaries, earnings estimates

Books on finance

Use the library catalog to find related books. In the "Subject" box, type in:

finance
banks and banking
capital
investments
global financial crisis
etc.

Example:

Power and Influence of Economists by Jens Maesse (Editor); Stephan Pühringer (Editor); Thierry Rossier (Editor); Pierre Benz (Editor)
Publication Date: 2021
Harvard Business Review Family Business Handbook by Josh Baron; Rob Lachenauer
Publication Date: 2021

Annual Reports and SEC filings

SEC database
public company and mutual fund (though not hedge fund) filings, including many international companies.
Investor Relations section of any company's website
should have links to both the actual filings, the printed annual report, and conference call/executive presentations.
Mergent Online
links to company filings for US and international companies
more...less...
.pdf's of print reports from 1997 to the present can be found if you go to the main company page, and then look at "reports"

ProQuest Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
in print, for over 800 companies from 1844 to the present.