Subjects Window
Sabine AmericanaMaking of the Modern WorldChronicling America: Historic American NewspapersProquest CongressionalVanderbilt Television ArchiveSocial Explorer
This is the "History Homepage" page of the "History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History  

Resources for historical research
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.cmu.edu/History Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

History Homepage Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What's New

 

What do you think?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

American Flag Status

 

Twicpics

 

Welcome

Welcome to Carnegie Mellon!  And if you're returning, welcome back, we missed you! 

Spring Semester is zooming by - ready for Spring Break??

 

New Databases

New databases:

 Proquest Congressional (Carnegie Mellon users only)
ca. 1789-present (coverage and updates vary).
Full text of Congressional Hearings both published (1824-present) and unpublished (1824-ca. 1984), & the Serial Set, 1789-2003 (House and Senate documents and reports, Senate executive reports, and Senate treaty documents). You can also search the Congressional Record (1985-present), the Federal Register (1980-present), the United States Code, Statutes at Large (1789-present), etc. See the Content Coverage Chart for complete details.

Vanderbilt Television Archive (Carnegie Mellon users only)
1968-present.
The world's most extensive and complete archive of television news. Individuals request loans of items from the collection for reference, study, classroom instruction, and research. Also available are DVDs that are duplications of entire broadcasts as well as compilations of individual news stories specified by the borrower. Borrowers pay fees for the items loaned to cover the costs of providing this service.

 

Welcome to Carnegie Mellon!!

New to Carnegie Mellon or the CMU History Department?

I'm so glad you've chosen Carnegie Mellon and the History Department for your studies!  Welcome to the campus, and welcome to a library guide that I hope will be of help to you during your time here.  Each department at Carnegie Mellon has a librarian that is responsible for specialized reference services, class instruction in library resources, and managing the book and journal budgets.  My name is Sue Collins and I am the librarian for the history department (as well as part of Engineering and Public Policy). I am based in Hunt Library (the Social Sciences and Humanities library). Don't hesitate to ask for help at any point in your career here.

 

 

 

E-books-tell me what you think

Should the libraries buy more e-books?
Get More-I love e-books
I hate e-books
What are e-books?
I didn't even know the library has e-books

 

This Day in History

Loading Loading...
 
 View Feed
blank padding
 

Random Daily History Quotation

 

What Does a History Librarian Do?

At Carnegie Mellon, each department and/or school has a librarian assigned to it.  As the librarian to the history department, I manage the book and journal collections and funds for the department.  I also prepare library guides (like this one!) that help users understand what resources we have for their research and teaching interests.  Upon request, I also can do instruction sessions on particular history topics or resources.   In addition, I explain and inform the history faculty and students about library policies and other related library information they need to know.  With my colleagues I  staff the reference desk at Hunt Library, but I am available, by appointment or via email,  for research consultations.  I also  serve on several library committess and  work on library projects when necessary. 

History Librarian

Profile Image
Sue Collins
Logo - AIMLogo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Hunt Library
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
412-268-5019
sc24@andrew.cmu.edu
Send Email

At the Reference Desk

You can also see when the History Librarian will be at the Hunt Library Reference Desk, available to help, by logging on to My Andrew and selecting "View Calendar" from the menu on the left. Use the "View Agenda" icon, and search "Susan Collins."
 

So what's with the Goldfish?

The History Librarian has a pet goldfish
Something's fishy....
It's got something to do with homonyms (perhaps a Disney character and the Muse of History?)
Sink or swim!!
It really has nothing to do with anything-it just fills up space!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip