CMU LibGuides: History: Secondary sources: Journal Articles, Dissertations, Book Chapters

History Databases

These databases can help you locate relevant journal or magazine articles. Most of these databases are aimed at finding secondary or tertiary sources For assistance using a database, contact your librarian!

America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. A comprehensive database of journal articles citations and abstracts, book citations, and dissertations relating to the history and culture of the United States and Canada. Allows searching by historical time period of subject of articles. Selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
ca. 1750-present. Integrates 4 integrating four bibliographies— the Isis Current Bibliography of the History of Science, the Current Bibliography in the History of Technology, the Bibliografia Italiana di Storia della Scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. Updated on a monthly basis, the database includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other related materials.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Access data on social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade - quantitative facts of American History. ca. 1790-present.

Cambridge Histories Online
Includes over 300 volumes published since 1960 covering a range of time periods, topics, and regions. Countries covered include the United States, United Kingdom, China, Egypt, Japan, Iran, Russia, Turkey, South Africa, and India; regions and continents include Scandinavia, Asia, Africa, Latin America, and the Pacific Islands.

General/Interdisciplinary Databases

These databases are broader in scope, allowing for the discovery of more interdisciplinary sources.

Academic Search Main Edition This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Main Edition is a multi-disciplinary database providing full text for nearly 2,000 journals and periodicals and is updated daily.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Articles in important academic journals from all disciplines (latest few years not available); also eBooks from leading academic publishers, as well as some images.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts to journal articles, books, reviews and selected chapters written from 1951 to the present. Links to full text of journal articles. Strong international coverage, incorporating over 100 languages and countries. Covers all areas of social sciences. Database Guide
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Mega-database that searches many interdisciplinary databases together - journals, newspapers, magazines; also industry reports.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from around the world, from 1861 to the present, with full text for most added since 1997.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Current humanities and social science journals from a variety of university presses.
Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
This online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains more than 410,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

African e-journals project
Contains digitized, full-text articles from the following journals: Africa media review, African journal of political economy, African journal of political science, Critical arts, Glendora books supplement, Glendora review, Institute of African Studies research review, Journal of social development in Africa, Pula, Transformation, Utafiti and Zambezia

History

CMU Library Catalog

Librarian for History and Languages, Cultures, & Applied Linguistics (LCAL)

If we don't have what you need

History Databases

General/Interdisciplinary Databases