Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Drama: Lighting and Sound: Basic Reference

This guide..

Basic reference resources in Hunt Library, new books and selected web links.


Questions?
Mo Dawley,
Art and Drama Librarian
Hunt Library
Art Library and Special Collections
412-268-6625
Drama Research Guide

Send Email


Related Guides
Music
Musical Theatre

Reference resources in Hunt Library

Stage Lighting

Craig, Wolf. Scene Design and Stage Lighting. 10th ed. Boston: Wadsworth Cengage Learning, 2014.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2091 .S8 P3 2014

Briggs, Jody. Encyclopedia of Stage Lighting. McFarland & Co., 2003.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2091 .E4 B66 2003

Keller, Max. Light Fantastic: The Art and Design of Stage Lighting. Munich; New York: Prestel, 2010
FA-REF-4 PN2091 .E4 K45 2010 (3rd edition)

Cover Image
Mort, Skip. Stage Lighting : The Technicians' Guide : An On-The-Job Reference Tool., Methuen Drama, 2011.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2091 .E4 M678 2015

Reid, Francis. The Stage Lighting Handbook. Routledge, 2001.
HUNT FA-REF-4 PN2091 .E4 R4 2001

Sound

BBC Sound Effects Library [sound recording].. Princeton, NJ: Films for the Humanities and Sciences, 1991.
MUS-OFC-4 CD3029 in 60 parts; CD1476 in 40 parts (each part can be checked out individually)

Daniels, Dieter. See This Sound: Audiovisuology Compendium: An Interdisciplinary Survey of Audiovisual Culture. Verlag der Buchhandlung Walter König, 2010.
HUNT-FA-REF-4 N6494 .M78 S44 2010

Gallagher, Mitch. The Music Tech Dictionary : A Glossary of Audio-Related terms and Technologies. Course Technology, 2009.
HUNT FA-REF-4 ML102 .E4 G36 2009

Cover Image
Brown, Ross. Sound: A Reader in Theatre Practice. Basingstoke ; New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.
HUNT STACKS-4 PN2091 .S6 B65 2010


Oxford Handbooks Online: Music

Scholarly review essays evaluating current thinking on a field or topic.

Sound databases

Ethnographic Sound Archives Online
Over 2,000 hours of previously unpublished historic field recordings fromaround the world,alongside their supporting field notes and ethnographers’ metadata,for the study of music in its cultural context.


16,000 downloadable sound effects now available in WAV.
Open access with some copyright restrictions.

Freesound
http://www.freesound.org/ 
Aims to create a huge collaborative database of audio snippets, samples, recordings, bleeps, ... released under Creative Commons licenses that allow their reuse. 
 
  
Studio Cutz
Each CD covers a unique theme, with titles such as "Acoustic Brew" and "Silly Stuff" with 60 second edits, 30 second edits, and short edits (or stingers) of each song. Search "Studio Cutz" in CAMEO for a complete listing.
 
For more databases on sound, music and streaming media go to Databases for Theatre.

New Acqs of Interest

Cover Image
Kaye, Deena., and LeBrecht, James. Sound and Music for the Theatre: The Art and Technique of Design, Fourth edition. New York ;: Routledge, Taylor & Francis Group,2016.
HUNT STACKS-4 (Stacks 4th Floor) PN2091 .S6 K3 2016

 

Cover Image
Zettl, Herbert. Sight, Sound, Motion: Applied Media Aesthetics. Eighth edition. Boston: Cengage Learning, 2017
HUNT OVRSZQ-4 TR850 .Z47 2017

 

Cover Image
Abulafia, Yaron. On Stage: Lighting in Contemporary Theatre. Abingdon, Oxon ;: Routledge, 2016
HUNT STACKS-4 (Stacks 4th Floor) PN2091 .E4 A28 2016

 

Cover Image
Spectacular! : stage design Hong Kong: SendPoints Publishing Co.
OVRSZQ-4  PN2091 .S8 S667 2015
 

Cover Image
Joseph, Stephen J. Broadway revealed : behind the theater curtain New York: Chance Magazine.
STACKS-4 (Stacks 4th Floor) PN2285 .J67 2015
 

Cover Image
Murphy, John J. Production sound mixing : the art and craft of sound recording for the moving image New York, NY: Bloomsbury Academic, an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing, Inc., 2016
FHUNT STACKS-4 (Stacks 4th Floor) TR897 .M84 2016

 

Cover Image
Home-Cook, George. Theatre and aural attention : stretching ourselves Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire ;: Palgrave Macmillan, 2015
HUNT STACKS-4 PN2091 .S6 H66 2015


 

Building codes and other standards

Online access to International (ICC) building codes, related standards from ASHRAE, ASTM, NFPA, etc., USGBC LEED Reference Guides, and Wiley’s Graphic Standards.

TECHSTREET
Contact the Drama Librarian to request a standard.
Carnegie Mellon Libraries has a deposit account with Techstreet for ordering standards and related documents for CMU faculty and students when we don't have what you need in MADCAD.com or elsewhere in our collections.

Web Links

BackStage World
Links to the lighting and sound industries.

IATSE International (The International Alliance of Theatrical Stage Employees, Moving Picture Technicians, Artists and Allied Crafts of the United States, Its Territories and Canada, AFL-CIO, CLC)
The labor union representing technicians, artisans and craftspersons in the entertainment industry, including live theatre, film and television production.

Theatre Links: Resources from Around the Globe  (Justin Cash)

The Lighting Resource
Includes links, calendar of events in the lighting industry and classified and help wanted.

World Listening Project (WLP) and World Listening Day
"A not-for-profit organization devoted to understanding the world and its natural environment, societies and cultures through the practices of listening and field recording. The WLP was founded in 2008 and is supported by the Midwest Society for Acoustic Ecology, a membership organization and regional chapter of the American Society for Acoustic Ecology, affiliated with the World Forum for Acoustic Ecology. The WLP maintains a website and online forum about its artistic and educational activities. These include the use of radio and web-based technologies, conducting public workshops, forums, and lectures, as well as participating in exhibitions, symposiums, and festivals."