This guide
is aimed at all the MSCF New Yorkers, and will show you how to use your library (and other) resources in your finance education and job search. (Please provide feedback below.)
Finance associations for networking
Look for job boards and/or student memberships
- International Association of Financial Engineers
- Financial Management Association
- Hedge Fund Association
- Global Association of Risk Professionals
- Professional Risk Managers International Association
- Society of Quantitative Analysts
- Bachelier Finance Society
- Association for Finance Professionals
- Financial Executives International
- International Centre for Business Information - ICBI
More finance job boards
Books to help your job search
These books are popular - if they are checked out, you can click on "place hold" to have it recalled for you within a week or so.
MORE
- Quant NetworkCurrent views, articles, papers, communication tools, and education resources
- SIBL - Business Branch of the New York Public Libraryonline and also in Manhattan at 188 Madison Ave. - one of the best business libraries in the world.
- "Web sites for discerning finance students"a vast array for those who want more
A Computational Knowledge Engine
Wolfram|Alpha generates output by doing computations from its own internal knowledge base, which includes significant financial data. Its goal is to make it possible to compute whatever can be computed about anything.
Congratulations, MSCF@CMU!
How to use these resources from NYC
- To use any of the databases or eBooks, go to the "Connect from off campus" tab above, and log in using the VPN. When you've done that, enter guides.library.cmu.edu/mscfny in the box at the top of the page. You'll be back here, but now you should be able to connect seamlessly.
- If you find a book you want, use the "We'll send it to you" tab above.
- For more information, try the "Ask a Question" tab.
- We're here for you! Contact the business librarian through email or chat.
Quant Finance Journals - a selected list
Here are some important journals in mathematical finance.
If you are off campus, you will need to first log in using the VPN to get access to our subscriptions. When you've done that, enter guides.library.cmu.edu/mscf in the box at the top of the page, and you should be able to connect seamlessly.
More places to find research on mathematical finance
These are the primary databases in mathematics and engineering, including financial aspects. You'll find thousands of relevant research articles and reports here. To read them, click on the
icon - this will either retrieve the electronic text, or connect you
with Interlibrary Loan, who will get it for you.
Here's
more about getting research articles at CMU.
- MathSciNetFor finance, use the code 91G in the "MSC Primary" box. Or just use keywords in the "Anywhere" box.
- Engineering VillageConference proceedings as well as journal articles in the top information resources in the applied science, technical and engineering fields
Financial Data

- Thomson ONE (use Internet Explorer version 9)
- Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) (and here's a user guide)
- S&P Capital IQ Netadvantage (user guide)
- Mergent Online (another user guide)
- MarketLine Advantage (formerly Datamonitor)
- International Financial Statistics database
- SDC Platinum - Global New Issues
- Bloomberg terminal – room A1 in the GSIA basement - (user guide)
- CISDM Hedge Fund Data (on WRDS platform - see WRDS user guide above)
- Yahoo Finance
- National Information Center (Federal Reserve)
- LIBOR rates
- Consumer finance data from Passport GMID database
- OECD data and papers on global finance
Financial Services companies - directories and listings
(Before using databases below, you'll need to use the Connect from NY link above. Once you do that, you can enter the URL for this guide - http://guides.library.cmu.edu/mscfny - and then you should get instant access.)
- Hoover'sclick on "Build a List" and then open the Industry section and "browse" the NAICS codes, choosing what you're interested in. (You'll also want to limit by location, as this is international.) For just the top companies, locate a company you are interested in, then check “competitors” on left hand side. SPECIAL FEATURE: detailed company info.
- Barclay Hedge Fund Directory(you will need to log in with your Andrew ID and PW.) A.pdf directory covering 2,784 international hedge funds. Also includes ranking tables grouped by hedge fund strategy.
- Security Dealers of North Americain Standard & Poor's database, 5000 brokerage and investment banking firms and their branches in the U.S. and Canada, description and contacts - can search by location
- Securities Industry and Financial Markets Association (SIFMA) membersinternational securities firms, US-registered broker-dealers and asset managers
- Top 100 Hedge Fundsranked by Barron's
- League TablesThomson Reuters' "Investment Banking Scorecard" - download the desired .pdf - league tables are on p.2. (You'll need to register first - use your CMU email.)
E-book of interest
Books on quant finance
- derivatives
- financial engineering
- finance - mathematical
- stochastic
- options (finance)
- risk management
- derivative securities
- hedging (finance)
- Monte Carlo method
- etc.
Dictionaries and Handbooks
- Encyclopedia of Quantitative FinanceeBook - 4 volumes of expert articles, models, formulas, graphs, charts, etc. on everything related to quant finance.
- Handbook of Finance print only :-( but worth the trip - a 3 volume encyclopedia edited by Frank Fabozzi - expert overviews of the essential theories, developments, and issues in the world of finance. Unavailable during renovations.
- Oxford Dictionary of Finance and BankingeBook
- Oxford Handbook of International Financial TermseBook
- Derivatives SourcebookeBook - classified bibliography of the most significant 1800 research articles in the derivatives literature
- Dictionary of Financial EngineeringeBook
- Encyclopedia of Quantitative Risk Analysis and AssessmenteBook
- Handbook of Fixed Income Securitiesprint only
- QFinance: The Ultimate ResourceeBook: Quick overviews of finance topics and concepts - important book summaries, profiles of thought leaders, calculations & ratios, best practices, information sources, quotations, action checklists, and more.
- Mathematics for Finance"an introduction to financial engineering"


Loading...
