This is the "79-303" page of the "History: 79-303 Pittsburgh and the Transformation of Modern Urban America" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

History: 79-303 Pittsburgh and the Transformation of Modern Urban America  

Last Updated: Jan 22, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.cmu.edu/pittsburghtransformation Print Guide RSS Updates

79-303 Print Page
  Search: 
 

Statistics

Additional statistical publications can be found at  the University of Pittsburgh, University Center for Social and Urban Research.

For additional statistical material, including some links to older census material, see Pittsburgh History: Statistics.

Journal and Magazine Articles

 Need more? See the A-Z database list or the Databases by Subjects list.

  • Academic Onefile
    All subject academic database, covers material published from ca. 1980 - present. (Carnegie Mellon users only). Links to full text may be provided. If they are not, click on the "Get It" see the retrieval options. If there are no full text options, see the "If We Don't Have What We Need" tab. Along with full text, the database offers the option for MP3 download.
  • America: History and Life
    Covers articles written on American history from 1964-present. (Carnegie Mellon users only).
    Links to full text may be provided. If they are not, click on the "Get It" see the retrieval options. If there are no full text options, see the "If We Don't Have What We Need" tab.
  • CQ Press Electronic Library
    (Carnegie Mellon users only) Online editions of many reference books. See especially CQ Researcher (1923-present)- original, non-partisan reports on issues. so the CQ Almanac (1945-present), a compiliation of congressional actions, legistation, and issues.
  • Reader's Guide Retrospective
    1890-1982. (Carnegie Mellon users only). Search for citations from articles in popular magazines. To get ful text, click on the "Get It" see the retrieval options. If there are no full text options, see the "If We Don't Have What We Need" tab.

Books

Use the links below to find books on your topic. Reference librarians can help you select relevant terms and a good search strategy for your topic.If we don't have the books you need, there are some options for getting them. See the If We don't Have What You Need: Books tab above.

  • Cameo
    CMU's library catalog. Find books, some government documents, audio and visual material (DVDs, CDs), titles of journals, but NOT journal articles. Your CMU ID is your library card. Where to Find your ID Number and Pin
  • Pittcat
    Catalog of the University of Pittsburgh, use it to find books, government documents, titles of journals but NOT journal articles. You can borrow materials by getting a special patron borrowing card at the Hillman Library Circulation Desk.
  • Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
    Catalog of Pittsburgh's public library, use it to find books, government documents, audio and visual material and titles of journals and magazines, but NOT journal and magazine articles. Get a Library Card
  • Worldcat
    Carnegie Mellon users only. Catalog for libraries throughout the U. S. and some European libraries. Find books, government documents, audio and visual material, archival material, titles of journals but NOT journal articles. You can see which libraries have the materials, and then link to them directly to get call number, availability info. You can also link directly to interlibrary loan. For this reason, some use this rather than CMU's own catalog.

Maps

For additional maps, see Pittsburgh History: Maps.

 

Pittsburgh

Newspaper Articles

For more on newspapers, see Pittsburgh History: Newspapers.

  • Chicago Tribune
    1849 - 1987. Search and display full text. You can also limit to certain years and/or certain sections of the newspaper. (Carnegie Mellon users only)
  • Google News Archive
    Search or Browse issues of old newspapers. Google has since abandoned this project of digitizing old newspapers, but the ones done are still available, including many from Pittsburgh covering different time periods.
  • Historical Newspapers: New York Times
    1851 - ca. current - 3 years. (Carnegie Mellon users only).
    Search and display the full text of the New York Times. You can limit your search by years, and by certain parts of the newspaper.
  • Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune
    1849 - 1987.
    Search and display full text. You can also limit to certain years and/or certain sections of the newspaper. (Carnegie Mellon users only)
  • Historical Newspapers: Pittsburgh Courier
    1911-2002. (Carnegie Mellon users only)
    Search, browse and display the full text of the city editon of the Pittsburgh Courier and the New Pittsburgh Courier. The Pittsburgh Courier was "once the country's most widely circulated black newspaper with a national circulation of almost 200,000." Read more.
  • Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal
    1889- current minus 17 years. (Carnegie Mellon users only)
  • LexisNexis Academic
    Dates vary by materials. (Carnegie Mellon users only).
    Includes full text of:
    Pittsburgh Post Gazette, 1993-present.
    Pittsburgh Tribune Review, 2004-present.
  • Pittsburgh Business Times Online
    (Carnegie Mellon users only) Paper copies are kept on the 3rd floor for the last 6 months.
  • Pittsburgh Post Gazette
    Paper kept until microfilm arrives. 1978-present on microfilm, HUNT 3rd floor. See also LexisNexis above.
  • Pittsburgh Press
    1960-1992 (ON MICROFILM) HUNT 3rd floor
  • Pittsburgh Tribune Review
    Paper kept until microfilm arrives. 1995-present on microfilm, HUNT 3rd floor
    1995-May 2010 filed under Tribune Review (Greensburgh edition), 2010-present filed under Pittsburgh Tribune Review (Pittsburgh edition). See also LexisNexis above.
  • Proquest Newsstand
    ca. 1990-present. (Carnegie Mellon uses only)
    Includes full text of:
    Pittsburgh Post Gazette. 1993-present.
    Pittsburgh Tribune Review, 2006-present.
    Pittsburgh Smart Business, ca. 1994-present.

Local Government

  • Allegheny County
  • Allegheny County Economic Development
    The lead economic and residential development agency for Allegheny County. We coordinate development initiatives that can be as far-reaching and complex as revitalizing the former Carrie Furnace site or as personal as the home improvement dreams of a single resident.
  • Pittsburgh City Government
  • Urban Redevelopment Authority Of Pittsburgh
    The City of Pittsburgh’s economic development agency, committed to creating jobs, expanding the City’s tax base and improving the vitality of businesses and neighborhoods. The URA achieves this mission by assembling, preparing and conveying sites for major mixed-use developments; and by providing a portfolio of programs that include financing for business location, relocation and expansion, housing construction and rehabilitation, and home purchases and improvements.
  • Southwest Pennsylvania Commission
    The Southwestern Pennsylvania Commission, or SPC, is the regional planning agency serving the Pittsburgh 10-county area and providing essential services to the region. The official Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), SPC directs the use of all state and federal transportation and economic development funds allocated to the region---approximately $33 billion through 2030. See esp. Data Services and Publications.

Government Documents

For additional government documents, see Pittsburgh History: Government Documents.

  • Allegheny (Pittsburgh, PA) Common Council and Select Council. City Common and Select Council Minutes.
    CARNEGIE LIBRARY OF PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT MICROFORM r FILM P-71
    Covers minutes of meetings of the Allegheny City Common and Select Councils for the years 1840-1907. Original documents available at the Archives and Library, Senator John Heinz Pittsburgh Regional History Center MSS #205.
  • Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
    For assistance, go to the Reference area on the 2nd floor. All materials will be in their online catalog, which can be keyword searched. Using pittsburgh pa city as the author can be a good start to finding city documents, or you can use other agency or department names.
  • City documents-City of Pittsburgh Website
    City code, Home rule charter, zoning, budget (2001-2012), tax forms, laws).
  • City of Pittsburgh-Legislative Information Center
    All types of legislation from 2000-present.
  • County and Municipal Records on Microfilm in the Pennsylvania State Archives.
    UNIVERSITY OF PITTSBURGH, HILLMAN LIBRARY, MICROFORMS (2nd Floor) Microfilm F 51
    487 reels containing the records of various municipalities and counties in Western Pennsylvania. For contents, see Guide to County and Municipal Records on Microfilm in the Pennsylvania State Archives CD3474.P46 1982. Exact dates vary by municipalities and counties, all pre-date 1979.
  • Digest of the general ordinances and laws of the City of Pittsburgh to March 1, 1938
    Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania Dept. (Oakland) - Reference Stack Area PENNA r KFX2151.A6 1938x NONCIRCULATING
  • Legislative Information Center-City Clerk's Office
    2000-present. All types of documents. Seach by keyword, narrow by type of material.
  • Minutes of the proceedings of the Council of the City of Pittsburgh. Municipal record. Ordinances, resolutions. Budget
    Hillman Library - General Collection
    JS13 P69e
    1977-1995, 1998-2001
  • Municipal record : minutes of the proceedings of the Council of the City of Pittsburgh.
    Barco Law Library General Collection Non-circulating, 3rd floor
    1889-1890,1900-1901,1907,1910-1911, 1913-1976
    Notes: See locator guide or Reference Librarian.
  • Pittsburgh (Pa.) [Borough Council Minutes]
    CARNEGIE LIBRARY OF PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT MICROFORM r FILM P-70
    Covers council minutes from boroughs that were later incorporated into the City of Pittsburgh. Beechview Borough Council minutes, 1905-1908. Beltzhoover Borough Council minutes, 1887-1898. Birmingham Borough Council minutes, 1847-1858. Brushton Borough Council minutes, 1890-1894. Carrick Borough Council minutes, 1907-1927. Chartiers Township Commissioners minutes, 1901-1920. East Birmingham Borough Coucil....
  • Pittsburgh City Code
    Current legislation and ordinances
  • Pittsburgh Policy Document Collection
    Created by Christopher Briem, University Center for Social and Urban Research, includes a variety of documents dealilng with , City of Pittsburgh, Allegheny County, the Pittsburgh Region, other subregions and general reference documents.
  • Records of Pittsburgh (Pa.) City Planning Commission, 1928-1962.
    Archives Service Center AIS 1976:17
    The City Planning Commission is responsible for the city's
    development, through policy & development review & through administration of the zoning ordinance. During the 1940s and 1950s, the commission devoted its energy to the redevelopment of areas that had been full of vacant or sub-standard housing & factory buildings, & the improvement and construction of major thoroughfares.
  • The municipal record : containing the proceedings of the Select and Common Councils of the City of Pittsburgh
    CLP Main (Oakland)- Pennsylvania Dept. Storage Stacks, Reference PENNA r KFX2151.A5x 1997-2001

History Librarian

Profile Image
Sue Collins
Logo - FacebookLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Hunt Library
Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
412-268-5019
sc24@andrew.cmu.edu
Send Email

Directories

For other directories see Pittsburgh History: Directories.

  • Book of Lists (Pittsburgh, PA)
    HUNT REF-1 HC107 .P42 P4932 (Kept at reference desk book cases)
    1995-present.
    Book of Business Lists
    HUNT REF-1 HC107 .P42 P4932 (Kept at reference desk book cases)

    1987-1994
    Lists of various businesses, business related subjects in Pittsburgh, e. g. Largest Public & Private Companies, Largest Employers, Fastest-growing Companies, etc.
  • Pennsylvania Hospitals by City
    Scroll down to see those listed under Pittsburgh.
  • Pittsburgh Shopping Malls
  • Pennsylvania- Hospitals and Medical Centers
    Use the "Find" [usually Ctrl f] in your browser to search for Pittsburgh

Pictures

For more see: History: Pittsburgh History: Pictorial Resources.

  • Historic Pittsburgh Image Collection
    From the Universitty of Pittsburgh. Search or browse over 27,000 images visually documenting Pittsburgh from the collections and archives of many local cultural heritage institutions and historical societies.
  • Pittsburgh Revealed: Photographs since 1850.
    HUNT FA-REF-4 TR25 .P6 P58 1997
    HUNT STACKS-4 TR25 .P6 P58 1997
  • Photographic Archives
    Photographs of buildings, people, business and industry, sports, transportation, etc. From the Senator John Heinz Regional History Center/Historical Society of Western Pennsylvania
  • The Hetrick Collection
    279 35mm color slides taken in the 1970s and 1980s by George D. Hetrick. From teh Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh.

  • The Photographers
    Photographs of Pittsburgh, arranged by name of photographer. From the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh.
  • Photographs from the Detroit Publishing Company, 1880-1920: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    From American Memory, Library of Congress. Buidings, parks, etc.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip