Skip to main content Carnegie Mellon University Libraries

Statistics & Data Science: Getting Started

The resources described below are intended to support teaching and research by faculty and students in the Department of Statistics.

Finding Full-Text Articles

Use the Get it @ CMU links wherever you see them!

If you have citations for specific articles, check the Library Catalog to see if we subscribe to the journal that contains the article. The Catalog will show whether or not we have access to the electronic version and/or the print version. If the CMU library collection doesn't have what you're looking for, you can request an article scan via Interlibrary Loan.

Request materials through Interlibrary Loan by clicking the ILLiad button and filling out a request form.

Reference librarians are here to help you - so please contact us with any questions!

Off-Campus Access

To connect from off-campus, access our resources via the library homepage or via this guide. Alternatively, use the VPN client as described on this page.

Interlibrary Loan

 

You can borrow items from other libraries if CMU Libraries does not have what you're looking for. ILLiad is our Interlibrary Loan system.  Simply go to this link, fill out a registration form if its your first time using the system and then click on a New Request link in the left hand column.

About this guide

This guide provides a starting point to useful resources, both freely available and for use by CMU affiliates through the CMU Libraries. The following resources types are covered:

  • Reference resources including encyclopedias and handbooks, as well as online resources for statistics and citation styles.
  • Scholarly articles including links to key databases for articles in the field of statistics, and databases to find research in other disciplines.

Library Catalog

From the CMU Library Homepage you can search for materials across the library system including books, music, dissertations, and journal articles.

You can search by keywords, title, author or call number using the Advanced Search feature of the library catalog.

The results page will list CMU holdings and will be sorted by relevance by default.  You can sort by date, author, title and call number using the drop-down menu in the upper right-hand corner of the search results. 

If the library doesn't have what you're looking for, consider Interlibrary Loan for access to non-CMU holdings.

Liaison Librarian

Sarah Young's picture
Sarah Young
Contact:
Hunt Library, Rm 109G
412-268-7384

Need more help?

Ask Us

Ask your questions in person, by phone, by e-mail, or via chat.

Contact the Hunt Reference team by email at huntref@andrew.cmu.edu.

Library Desk Contact Information

Library Hours

Request a one-on-one research consultation