CMU LibGuides: Statistics & Data Science: Reference Sources

LinkedIn Learning

LinkedIn Learning, formerly Lynda.com, offers a wealth of video tutorials and courses to learn software, creative and business skills. As a CMU affiliate, you can access and use LinkedIn Learning for free. For more information, visit the CMU LinkedIn Learning page.

Learning R

R for Data Science by Garrett Grolemund; Hadley Wickham
Publication Date: 2017-01-10

In-Depth Style Guides

The Chicago Manual of Style, 16th edition, Online Guide

The Purdue Online Writing Lab including guides to APA, MLA and Chicago Styles

The Legal Information Institute provides this overview of basic legal citation.

Citation guides by EasyBib for MLA, APA and Chicago styles

Learning Excel

Statistical Analysis with Excel for Dummies by Joseph Schmuller
Publication Date: 2022

LinkedIn Learning
LinkedIn Learning has many courses and tutorials for Excel, from basic to more advanced and for multiple operating systems.
Excel Easy
A useful website with basic tutorials and how-tos for many of Excel's common functions.

General Reference

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and dictionaries on a wide variety of subjects.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary, international, full-text database of over 18,000 sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Expert introductions to major topics in business, management, finance, economics, and philosophy
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Over 100 language and subject dictionaries and reference works.

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics by Neil J. Salkind
Publication Date: 2006-10-13
Handbook of Mathematics and Statistics for the Environment by Frank R. Spellman; Nancy E. Whiting
Publication Date: 2013-11-12
Handbook of Statistical Bioinformatics by Henry Horng-Shing Lu (Editor); Bernhard Schölkopf (Editor); Hongyu Zhao (Editor)
Publication Date: 2011-05-17

Other Statistics Resources

Springer Nature Link eBooks This link opens in a new window
Access to Springer Nature Link (formerly SpringerLink) ebooks that the libraries have purchased.

Glossary of Statistical Terms
University of California Berkeley offers this online statistical glossary, from Affine Transformation to z-test.
American Statistical Association
This professional organization represents the world's largest community of statisticians. Their website provides resources on statistics careers, education, conferences and more.