CMU LibGuides: Software and Societal Systems (S3D): 17-619/17-629: Product Management Essentials I & II: Databases & Resources

Company Research Resources

S&P Capital IQ
In-depth financial information for publicly-traded companies. Create an account using your CMU email address by following these directions.

Directions

1. After account creation and login, search for company of interest at the top.

2. Most info can be downloaded. Use the Excel or Word icons to do this.

Mergent Online
Info on US and international companies. 15 years of in-depth financial data. Some executives info and access to analyst reports on publicly-traded companies.

Directions

1. After connecting to the resource, search for the company of interest in the blue box.

2. Most info can be downloaded. Select the download option(s) icon within each section.

Business News Resources

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)
Articles in major US business newspaper,1984-present. WSJ Online articles are here.

Forbes
Articles in major US business publication, 1990-present.
Fortune
Articles in major US business publication, 1992-present.
Fast Company
Articles in major US business/tech publication, 2000-present.
Business Insider
Articles in major US business publication, 2018-present.
Businessweek
Articles in major US business publication, 1996-present.

Product Reviews Resources

G2.com
Info on several business software products from different categories: project management, accounting, CRM, etc.
Capterra
Ratings and reviews on software products. Categories include: IT & Development, Business Operations, Project Management, and more. Click on numerical rating to get to user product reviews.
SoftwareWorld
Product reviews for several types of software. Browse through categories to get listings of software that are free or subscription-based.

Industry/Market Research Resources

Statista
International market, industry, company, and demographic statistics, data-centered reports and dossiers - fully downloadable in various formats.
MarketLine (previously Datamonitor)
Reports on companies, industries, and countries. Contains some SWOT and 5 forces analyses and market data on consumer products.
EMARKETER
Offers data and insights to the digital media consumer market. Industries covered include automotive, consumer products, financial services, healthcare, telecom and media/entertainment.
IBISWorld
Industry market research reports with analysis, data, conditions, segmentation, market share, primary companies, and outlook in the US, UK, China, US States, and globally.

US Census Data
Primary US federal agency responsible for producing data about the American people and economy.
Occupational Outlook Handbook (from BLS)
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics provides information about different US occupations.

Additional market/industry-related resources and databases to consult:

Gartner Core Research
Analysis, forecasting, hype cycle, and some segmentation info for information technology (IT) products and services

Directions

This resource offers different types of reports that can be used to assess the current trends, market information, and more for a variety of IT-related products and services. You may have to do several keyword searches to locate relevant reports.

1. Once in the database, search your keywords in the search box at the top.

2. For companies/products of interest: search company/product name and consider "Vendor Rating" reports.

3. For topics of interest: consider "Market Guide for..." reports (e.g., Market Guide for Cloud Management Tooling).

4. For new technologies and innovations: consider "Hype Cycle for..." reports (e.g., Hype Cycle for AI).

5. For a specific market and market competitors: consider "Magic Quadrant for..." reports (e.g., Magic Quadrant for Industrial IoT Platforms).

6. Most reports are downloadable as PDFs. NOTE: some reports are not available under an academic subscription.

Frost & Sullivan
Market reports and analysis on technology aspects of industries. Industries include: aerospace & defense, automotive, chemicals, consumer products, electronics, healthcare, and more. Reports are now available to download as PDFs.

Directions

This resource offers different types of reports that can be used to assess the current trends, market information, and more for specialized/niche markets. You may have to do several keyword searches to locate relevant reports.

1. Once in the database search your keywords in the search box at the top.

2. For new and emerging technologies: consider "TechVision" reports.

3. For growth opportunities: consider "Mega Trends" and "Growth Opportunities" reports.

4. For industry research: consider "Industry Research Analysis" reports.

5. ALL Frost & Sullivan reports are now downloadable as PDFs.

Software and Societal Systems (S3D): 17-619/17-629: Product Management Essentials I & II: Databases & Resources

Getting Started

Company Research Resources

Business News Resources

Product Reviews Resources

Industry/Market Research Resources