CMU LibGuides: Business: 45-913: Emerging Markets: Home

A few tips before you start

- If you are having trouble viewing the data, try changing your browser (to Firefox, IE, etc.)
- Links in italics are subscription databases -to use them while off campus, log in here first.
- Have fun!

Current Macroeconomic News

Something new to try

Databases to use

World DataBank
(from the World Bank) - you will first choose your country, then your “series” (1257 variables), and then your time frame; you can also use the "hierarchies" on the left to use the classification scheme. Ultimately you'll get a spreadsheet that you can download; mapping is also an option.
International Financial Statistics
(from the IMF) create spreadsheets for over 200 countries and 1616 variables. You'll need to register, and then sign in each time, in order to download data.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
thousands of datasets in a wide range of categories. (For countries other than the US, open the "International" category.) When you select a specific variable, you'll see frequency (yearly, monthly, weekly or daily) and time span at the top. Tools for mapping, graphing, analysis and exporting are available. For the source of each data element, click on "Citations."
Mergent Economics
Over 1000 economics datasets covering retail, housing, trade, commodities, banking, energy, industry and other indicators. (The "Custom Date Range" option goes back further than the "Years" option.)
Credo Reference
offers quick authoritative explanations of terms (such as "real exchange rate" and "terms of trade") from reputable economics dictionaries.

Some other sources

(find more on Datasets page)

Quick basic macro tables
from USDA - GDP, population, exchange rates, etc. for 190 countries and 34 regions from 1969 through 2020.
Federal Reserve Economic Data (St. Louis Fed)
55,000 economic time series from 44 sources.
LABORSTA
from the International Labour Office, labor data for 200 countries, from 1969 to the present.
Total Economy Database (TED)
from the Conference Board - annual data on GDP, population, employment, hours, labor quality, capital services, labor productivity, and total factor productivity for 123 countries. Requires free account.
UNData
from the United Nations - Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade, as well as the Millennium Development Goals indicators.
Central Banks for each country
which often have a statistical section for economic and financial data.
Penn World Table
purchasing power parity and national income accounts converted to international prices for 189 countries/territories 1950-2019.
OANDA foreign exchange rates
daily rates for 164 currencies (and gold, silver and platinum) from1990 to the present.

Country Reports/Data

Outlook, risk, market analysis, growth, banking & finance, etc. -

select "Browse by Location" for country breakdown. Sort by most recent date to get the most current at the top.

EIU Viewswire Reports
economic, financial, political, & regulatory intelligence.
EIU Country Finance (annual) and Country Forecast (monthly) reports
EIU Country Data Reports
Spreadsheet with 370 economic variables over a 50 year period, actual and forecasted (may need to change browsers for spreadsheet to open.)

Economic Indicators from the International Economic Statistics database at the St. Louis Fed.

Overall information and demographics - use database: Europa World - select a country in the upper right search box. All the categories on the left side open up into many more - the directories, also.

Basic statistics - quick reports from Encyclopedia Brittanica or CIA World Factbook.

Overviews, news, forecasts, facts, reports and more links – use portal: Global Edge – country briefings.

Detailed demographic and economic data, use database: World dataBank - you will first choose your country, then your “series” (which is a large set of variables; expand the categories to see them all) , and then your time frame, to get both a chart that you can download, and a map.

Economic data, such as exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, interest rates, production, trade, government accounts, and national accounts, use database: International Financial Statistics and other IMF Databases.

Articles on emerging markets

Business Source Premier
Articles and reports in thousands of scholarly and mainstream business-related publications - many related to emerging markets.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Ditto.

Oxford Economics Weekly Economic Briefing: Emerging Markets
Recent commentary and data on emerging market economies.
Emerging Markets Monitor from BMI
Political & economic analysis with specific asset class forecasts for over 64 emerging markets globally.

Company Financials

Mergent Online
Note: This database will retire on June 30, 2025
US and foreign companies, active and inactive. 15 years of financial data, mergers & acquisitions, SEC filings, institutional holdings, earnings estimates, joint ventures, long-term debt, bond ratings, capital stock, insider trading, historical stock prices. Also industry and equity reports, and annual reports from 1997.

SEC database
all US public companies and some foreign ones must file their financial reports here; this is the most direct source.
Company Website
look for the "investor relations" section.