Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome! This guide provides a listing of databases and resources to find data sets in the social sciences, business, and economics. Additionally, this guide provides some tips and best practices around various research data management (RDM) topics.
Below is a listing of various secondary data sources that can be used for behavioral sciences and business/economics research. Some sources are free and some are subscription-based. NOTE: this is just a handful of sources. There are MANY more to consider based on your research question of interest.
WRDS (Wharton Research Data Services) This link opens in a new window
Uniform web interface to datasets in finance, economics and banking, from multiple sources, i.e. Standard & Poor’s Compustat, the Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP,) and more. When off-campus, connect to Full VPN access
Requires CMU email to access. After entering your CMU email address, a an email will be sent to you from WRDS with a link to access WRDS content.
ICPSR This link opens in a new window
A data archive of datasets related to social and political research, made available through the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research at the University of Michigan. CMU affiliates have access to member-only data. To create an account, click Log In from the home page and then Create Account. Note that you must be in the CMU IP range when creating an account
(either on campus, or using the Full VPN
). Once an account is created, you can access the resource from any location using the link above. Use this guide
for more info.
Cross-National Time Series Data Archive This link opens in a new window
The Cross-National Time Series Data Archive was originally established to provide access to the longitudinal data from The Statesmen's Yearbook. The Archive now houses annual data from 200 countries dating back to 1815 on a range of topics related to social science research, including topics such as urbanization, transportation, economics and much more.
RAND State Statistics This link opens in a new window
RAND State Statistics includes a collection of more than 200 socioeconomic databases that cover all 50 U.S. states. Databases contain an average of 20 years of data and cover topics including Births, Medicare, Median Household Income, Population by Multi-race/Ethnicity and Age Group, and Local Government Finances.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives (with iPOLL) This link opens in a new window
Archive of social sciences data. Data primarily from survey of public opinion. NOTE: Register for a free account with your CMU email address for full access to Roper iPoll content.
ProQuest Historical Annual Reports This link opens in a new window
Printed annual reports for many US companies, from 1844 to now; financial data and narrative and pictorial snapshots of companies through time. Good for historical, primary research on companies. PDF outputs.
Business & Economics Librarian
RDM Specialist & Psychology Librarian