CMU LibGuides: Business: 70-430: International Management: Research

Go Beyond Google

Knowledge holds the key to your future.

Company Financials

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
US and international companies. 15 years of financial data, mergers & acquisitions, SEC filings, long-term debt, bond ratings, and historical stock prices. Also International stock exchange data.

SEC database
all US public companies and some foreign ones must file their financial reports here; this is the most direct source.
Company Website
look for the "investor relations" section.

Research Your Company

Hoover's (Now D&B Hoovers) This link opens in a new window
includes US and international companies; brief company description, leadership, history, financials, products, etc.
ReferenceUSA (now Data Axle) This link opens in a new window
choose U.S. Businesses database on the left column. When you find your company - navigation to more data is on the left side.
MarketLine (previously Datamonitor) This link opens in a new window
view your company and then see the sections on the left - particularly the SWOT analysis and Financial Deals

More on our company research guide.

Research Business News

Best place to find company innovations, new product announcements, and international business news.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Academic and industry periodicals in all business disciplines. Also industry, company, and country reports.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Articles from industry and scholarly sources, periodicals, reports and dissertations, on business, management, corporate strategy, and the competitive landscape.
Economist Magazine This link opens in a new window
Articles from 1986 to the present from this esteemed publication on worldwide economic and business topics. In ProQuest database.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
Financial news and commentary from the City (London.). Access is provided by ProQuest. Coverage includes 1996-present but recent content is delayed one month. (2001-present and recent content also delayed one month.)

HR Magazine (SHRM)
Publication from the Society for Human Resource Management. Full text coverage from 1991 to present in ProQuest.

Research Your Industry

MarketLine (previously Datamonitor) This link opens in a new window
international coverage - substantial industry reports on hundreds of specific industries
First Research Industry Profiles This link opens in a new window
Background intelligence reports for all kinds of industries. Enter term describing your industry (i.e. solar) in search box, and refine to find most recent report. Valuation multiples available for many industries.

More on our industry research guide

Research World Economic Conditions

IMF World Economic Outlook
International economy slideshow from the Dallas Fed
a quick slide show plus more
International overview from the Bureau of Labor Statistics
the future labor market
World Development Indicators from the World Bank

Research Your Company's Strategy and Risk Factors

Look up the company's latest 10-K (either on the company's website's Investor Relations section, or on the SEC database. Here you'll want to look at these sections: "Risk Factors" and "Management's Discussion".

Use ABI-INFORM database and search using keywords, i.e. "Microsoft and strategy".